We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good bed and location - and then...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of So Hyde Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added So Hyde Park Hotel to your Saves list
So Hyde Park Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23-25 Leinster Square - Bayswater, London W2 4NE, England (Notting Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #694 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Høje Tåstrup
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“good bed and location - and then...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

If you are satisfied with a good bed and a good location - then The Hyde Park Hotel is a good choice. But are you looking for more, then you can easily be disappointed. We were a small group of people so we experienced a lot of different room. If you want a good bathroom, then some of them are so small that are you above average size, then you will simply not fit in there. And the rooms are equpped differently even though you are promised the same equipment - some do not have a hairdrier/electricity in the bathroom, some do not have a cupboard, some do not have sufficient pans and pots in the kitchen - and some do not have a table and chair, which is needed if you have breakfast included. Breakfast is served in the rooms and consist of a croissant, cerial, juice, milk, jam, butter - and coffee/the you can make yourself.
The refurbishing looks good, but does not work perfectly everywhere. In my room the floorboards were creaking a lot and some of the tiles in the bathroom were moving when touched. ANd one detail about room 501 - the cupboard was standing in an old entrance from the other Victorian town house the hotel was built in. In september it was ok, but I guess it will be a cold room in the winter.
All in all a usefull hotel if you just sleep there - but even in London you will be able to get more and better for your money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    138
    106
    48
    56
See reviews for
69
164
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

At check-in, the receptionist was semi-friendly so it was good enough. The rest of the time we were basically ignored by staff but we didn't really care so that was fine. We were lucky enough to get a room on the top floor (407) so we had a nice window with a pleasant view. The rooms were fresh, the decor fairly modern (but cheaply done) and the bed was comfy. There was adequate space for one suitcase but it was pretty tight for 2 suitcases. The bed was extremely close to the wall at the foot side and it was hard to walk through the gap but again, this was not a big deal. The kitchenette was handy but we didn't really use it, I think it would have been better to just have extra space in the room. The bathroom is my only real gripe with this hotel - the floor had pubic hair left over from the last guests, a FILTHY toilet brush holder, a FILTHY shower cubicle, especially in the bottom corners where the shower doors came together. The towels were frayed and mismatched. If only the bathroom was to the standard of the bedroom, I would have been completely satisfied. If you're fussy about a clean bathroom, don't stay here. If you don't really care and just want somewhere clean (bedroom part), cheap (!? - for London standards anyway) and safe to sleep (it's in a great location), then stay here. I searched the internet for AGES trying to find somewhere suitable in London and kept coming back to this place for its location, 'relative' cleanliness and 'relatively' good price. Overall, it was OK and I'd recommend this place to friends who wouldn't be too fussed about the gross bathroom.
PS: no photos of the bathroom because I was too traumatised by it.

Room Tip: Room 407 on the top floor was great. I read on Trip Advisor that they have rooms in the basement, yi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

There are all sorts of reviews for this hotel, from 5-star praise to 1-star horror. My review will be the definitive review of this strange little hotel.

The good:
- good location near Bayswater tube station
- near Hyde park
- in quiet street (except for backpackers being loud outside a hostel across the street)
- CHEAP! The cheapest proper hotel we could find in London.
- Plenty of great restaurants in the area
- Comfortable bed

The bad:
- Unfriendly, unhelpful receptionists in the habit of smoking out the back with the door open, so the whole ground floor stinks of smoke
- DISGUSTING BATHROOM. The toilet actually got cleaner with each time I used it - that's how dirty the bowl was to begin with. The shower head was caked in rust / lime scale. There were pubic hairs (not mine) all over the bathroom floor. And to top it all off, there was a sickeningly sweet-smelling berry air-freshener in the bathroom, to cover the smell of cigarette smoke (someone smoked in there?)
- TINY ROOM. Not big enough for 2 people. I've seen bigger rooms in Japan (that's really saying something)
- SECOND-HAND TOWELS. Towels were a bit tattered and had other companies' logos on them, such as a certain computer company (hilarious). The sheets were a little on the tattered side too.
- NO INFORMATION BOOK IN ROOM. You know how in the desk of whatever hotel room you stay at, there is a nice folder full of useful information? Not so here. We had to ring down and ask for the wireless password, etc. Which reminds me...
- SLOOOOW internet!! I don't just mean a little bit slow. I mean waiting 10 minutes for a web page to load and pulling all your hair out slow! Internet is slowest in the evening before midnight. It is a little faster in the morning. We literally stayed up late to use the internet after everyone else had given up.
- The elevator. The floor was just a plank of board. Like something in a third world hotel.

Conclusion: Don't stay here. It's a strange little place. BUT, if you don't want a hostel, but don't want to spend much either, you don't have much alternative in a decent location.

Room Tip: Go to the 5th floor. Less traffic up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 6nights back in June. The check-in experience was very smooth and quick with our room ready for us when we arrived, even though we arrived very early due to an early flight.
The hotel room was very clean and good size for London. The room had a kitchenette area with sink, hob, mini-fridge etc which is very handy. Bathroom was a little small but spotless and lovely shower.
The bed was a double, little on the small size but comfortable enough with what felt like excellent Egyptian cotton bed clothes... soo smooth! We had breakfast each morning which is delivered to your room at whatever time you specify on check-in. It was nice, but you get the exact same thing every day with no choice- cornflakes, milk, croissants & jam... Would be nice to have a little more variety...
The location of the hotel is just fab. You can walk to Portabello street market in 20mins! and walk all around Nottinghill. You are also only a ten min walk to the beautiful Hyde Park. There are two tube stations very close to the hotel which is great for getting around quickly.
I would say for the price it is spot on with what you would expect in London. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very near the tube station of bayswater. Maybe the first time you enter to the room you feel that is small, but it has all you need for a stay in london, that is city to spend most of the time out. The room has a small kitchen, not all the rooms, you will have to ask for it. This is great for breakfast and cold drinks, or making some sandwich for dinner. It has a small bathroom, good presure of the water and clean. I read in other rewiews that it was not clean, is because the cal of the water. The bed is a good bed and big. So with the small kitchen and the big bed, there is not much more space. Also is you want to put your clothers or shoes or cases, the bed is a canape so you have space down too.
The hotel has a very good conection of wifi and free! It will help you to look all the tourist information before your visit each day. The workers are nice, and they help us in all we needed. We will came back sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel for 5 nights. (Prepaid)

At arrival we met the most demotivated foreign recepsionist which were probably an undercover emo, trying as hard as possible not to give a damn. The check in was super slow, and she didn't give us any practical information.

The room we got was small, but it had a sort of nice decor to it. The toilet did not work, and the shower was dirty. They didn't offer us a new room, but they came to fix the toilet after a couple of hours. The shower stayed dirty.

It's a budget hotel and You get less then what You pay for since the location is not the best. If You're in London for a concert or a football game You might wanna stay here, but if You're doing tourism or a romantic gettaway I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I got a special online rate which put me in a smaller than typical room which would have been fine if I were traveling alone but it was cramped for two people. The layout of the furniture didn't help either! Although the bathroom was nice, it was TINY - even by Euro standards!!! I mean one person at a time small - LOL! Otherwise, the room was fine - flat screen TV, updated furniture and all. Again, fine for one person. The bed was plush/very comfy and reminiscent of Westin Hotel beds, suffice t to say, I slept well every night! Another pro was the hotel location; I aimed at being near the area where the Notting Hill carnival was held so the location was perfect. Hotel building itself is lovely and located in picturesque famous London West End neighborhood. Lovely European architecture, neighborhood and landscape all around., I would stay here again, in a BIGGER room!!!

Pros:
friendly staff, lovely location, very clean room with modern furniture and flats screen TV, comfy bed

cons:
tiny bathroom, tight space, space, space - this is not surprising. London is notorious for matchbox hotel rooms. Even when I stayed at a larger hotel chain (on another trip) in Piccadilly Circus, the upgraded suite was still small (by American hotel standards). When in Rome....

Room Tip: AVOID the rooms on the ground level (that's basement level, to the American traveler :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to So Hyde Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about So Hyde Park Hotel

Address: 23-25 Leinster Square - Bayswater, London W2 4NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #694 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — So Hyde Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Budget Places, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your So Hyde Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Hotel
Hyde Park London
So Hyde Park Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage So Hyde Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.