We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastico!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antonio's Ristorante

Antonio's Ristorante
Rear of 137 Upper Street | Islington, London N1 1QP, England
+44 20 7226 8994
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Antonio's Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #924 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $38 - $68
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Bus 43, Walking ditance to Angel Tube and also Highbury Islington Tube
Description: Antonio’s Ristorante is a family owned Italian restaurant on Upper Street in Islington one of London restaurants most popular eating and drinking destinations. From the beginning the aim has been to provide good quality homemade Italian food and to create a memorable experience for our guests in a happy and cosy environment. At Antonio's we believe in informal but excellent service. When it’s comes to cookery Antonio who was born in England & father is from Calabria, South Italy believes in a good quality but basic concept with the minimum of fuss and the maximum of flavour.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Every time we visit london we will not leave without a visit to this restaurant!!! We take our young children and they are totally spoilt!!! The staff are so welcoming and really helpful, the atmosphere is perfect!!! And the food is just the best italian I have ever tasted!!! You feel totally comfortable here and a glass of proscecco is a must!
Thankyou to all at antonios we love you!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    27
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Italian restaurant in Upper street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We were a party of 13 people To celebrate a birthday All the food for each course came out together for all of us . Very friendly /// approachable staff . The food was superb !!!!!!!
YOU MUST GO TO THIS RESTAURANT .

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bad value, poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

House white v mediocre and the food was poor to middling apart from the excellent goat cheese souffle. Bill was high, lots of pressure to buy more expensive wine. A chain would have been better value and provided a better ambience. Actually, I can do better chez moi. Avoid.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“A delightful night with excellent Italian fare.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Though not the easiest place in the world to find, it is worth making the effort with Antonio's - and even when you do find it, tucked away down a side street, it looks anything but a great restaurant from the outside. Do not judge this book by its cover.

The menu is not extensive, and some of the dishes hardly scream of authentic Italian cuisine, but those that do are really well executed. From delicious braesola and rocket starter, through a wonderfully silky and rich spaghetti vongole, finished off with a desert of torte pannatone di cioccolata, the evening was great dish after great dish. Topped off with a decent primitivo from the reasonable wine list and it was a fine evening indeed.

Seek it out. it's worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A cosy romantic little place away from the buzz of Upper Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This restaurant is a breath of fresh air in Islington. Upper Street can be pretty overwhelming sometimes and this place is the antidote. It's tucked away on a little side street - I wouldn't have even know about it unless a friend took me there a few years ago. I've continued to eat there when I want to sit and have a quiet conversation and eat lovely food, served by lovely people. All of the people who work here know how to give excellent service - very attentive without being too much so and they know about the food and wine they're serving. And the food is very good - you get your standard Italian dishes on offer, but I consistently order the fish as it's prepared so well. It's not a posh restaurant, but the presentation is above standard for the price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antonio's Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Antonio's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antonio's Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.