We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Angus Steakhouse

Angus Steakhouse
21 Coventry Street | Leicester Square, London W1D 7AE, England (Trafalgar Square / Embankment)
+44(0) 207 420 6204
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,193 of 17,052 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $45
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Description: Angus Steakhouse is the original chain of steak restaurants based in central London's West End and has been serving both Londoners and visitors alike for over half a century. Indeed, today, you will still find many Angus Steakhouses in the centre of London, serving delicious food to all who walk through its doors. Angus Steakhouse has a long and proud heritage which stretches back to the 1960s when it could often be found in the Good Food Guide. Founded by Sir Reginald Eastwood, Angus Steakhouse aimed to deliver tender, quality steak and friendly, attentive service right from the start. And today, fifty years on, those values remain the same. With over 50 years of heritage serving premium quality steak, each Angus Steakhouse also offers a traditional menu including fish, chicken and a variety of vegetarian sides. And at Angus, we are committed to providing high quality food to London and its visitors for years to come. After 50 years, Angus Steakhouse has become a landmark in its own right. And we're still where it all began, set in the heart of London and offering excellent food. Angus Steakhouse restaurants are the perfect place for dining in the West End.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Terrible quality of meat, overpriced and average service. I really don't understand why this place is always busy.

It was my birthday and by the end I regretted to go there.

Not recommended!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Regretful decision.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Extremely over-priced, bland, and terrible service - this basically sums up our visit. We knew better, and had tried to eat elsewhere, but had already been walking about too much and decided to just give up and settle. The only appealing thing about our expensive, boring meals (a "ribeye" and chicken Caesar salad) was the sweet potato fries. It was quite loud and crowded (we mistakenly took the latter as a good sign), which only made our bad experience that much less enjoyable. I'd never return and would not recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We visited after a busy site seeing day.. three of us had ribs and my youngest had a 10oz steak. The ribs were outstanding best ever. The steak my daughter enjoyed although expensive. The staff were lovely apart from a young male waiter couldn't speak or understand English well and said this to me when I asked for ice and lemon..... Another waitress who appeared to be in charge with long blonde hair felt she was far too important to deal with customers. I asked her for the bill she said okay but went away totally ignoring my request. She was too busy telling other members of staff how terrible the management are to her....... A good meal but expensive. I think the management need to sort out their problem staff......

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
376 reviews 376 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Good quality food and service but expensive. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Took pot luck after terrible experience at nearby TGIF. Service friendly and efficient, menu selective (it's a steakhouse) but food served quickly and was delicious. Sides a bit small but sweet potato chips well worth the money. Why add a cover charge??? Just add it to the meal value as it adds nothing but just annoys diners and outs staff on the spot. Would have give 5* but for prices even for London it was expensive for what it was - a couple of steaks. However, great staff and calm atmosphere - gray if you are under time pressure before a show.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Owner at Angus Steakhouse, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.

We appreciate our customers feedback! At Angus, we strive to offer a fast, friendly service.
The sweet potato sticks have been a long time favourite with lots of our regular diners, we are pleased you enjoyed them too.

We do have a cover charge in place which is £1 per person, we charge this as our Angus Steakhouse restaurants are located in some of the most prestigious locations in central London and since 1968 we have become part of the fabric of London. Each year the company pays a fee to Heart of London which contributes to the up keep of public areas such as Leicester Square and Piccadilly Circus to name but a few. Heart of London spends the money on restoration, street cleaning, public safety and security, removal of graffiti, managing homeless people, dealing with illegal street traders and pick pockets. Since the introduction of this charge there has been a note viable difference in the safety, security and cleanliness for visitors to the area. The cover charge is a contribution towards the total fee paid by Angus Steakhouse and in return our customers can dine in key London locations safely and securely. We do not disguise this charge and it is printed on all of our menu's.

We hope to welcome you again soon, Angus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gammelstad, Sweden
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sticky Toffie Pudding!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The food was soo good the best I have had for a long time. and the sticky toffy pudding was the perfect ending on a perfect dinner!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angus Steakhouse also viewed


Been to Angus Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angus Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.