We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food - cramped dining” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Angus Steakhouse

Angus Steakhouse
21 Coventry Street | Leicester Square, London W1D 7AE, England (Trafalgar Square / Embankment)
+44(0) 207 420 6204
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,193 of 17,052 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $45
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Description: Angus Steakhouse is the original chain of steak restaurants based in central London's West End and has been serving both Londoners and visitors alike for over half a century. Indeed, today, you will still find many Angus Steakhouses in the centre of London, serving delicious food to all who walk through its doors. Angus Steakhouse has a long and proud heritage which stretches back to the 1960s when it could often be found in the Good Food Guide. Founded by Sir Reginald Eastwood, Angus Steakhouse aimed to deliver tender, quality steak and friendly, attentive service right from the start. And today, fifty years on, those values remain the same. With over 50 years of heritage serving premium quality steak, each Angus Steakhouse also offers a traditional menu including fish, chicken and a variety of vegetarian sides. And at Angus, we are committed to providing high quality food to London and its visitors for years to come. After 50 years, Angus Steakhouse has become a landmark in its own right. And we're still where it all began, set in the heart of London and offering excellent food. Angus Steakhouse restaurants are the perfect place for dining in the West End.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Average food - cramped dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I hate to be too critical of chain restaurants on reviews because I feel like when dining at a chain you should have your expectations in check. The dining booths were very cramped but the service was good. The food was bland but not terrible. It seemed affordable to me (26.50 for an 8oz. filet), but I would have preferred to pay more for better quality and taste. The restaurant was packed so I guess that speaks highly of it. I think with the many restaurants in London to chose from I would not dine here again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    329
    223
    115
    107
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Mouldy food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Visited the Coventry street steak house on sat 11th nov, didn't want a meal as it was in the morning and hadn't had breakfast. Ordered muffins and jam and latte coffee. The coffee arrived slightly warm so was sent back, and the muffins, well they arrived with green mouldy dots over them!!! Very concerned cos if that is the state of the bread items they are serving I would hate to see what the meat is like !!! Have given feedback to Angus steak houses via their feedback site but surprise surprise have heard nothing. Would not go in any of those places again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannSmith, Public Relations Manager at Angus Steakhouse, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Hazel, let me assure you we are very concerned with the quality of our food and our efficient service. I am dismayed your experience didn't reach our high standards. Please do email info@angussteakhouse.co.uk with further details so we're able to investigate further. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Loved it. Been here several times and tried out a variety of steaks. I'd rate it as one of the best steakhouses in the city !
Waiting time is a bit high here, though.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannSmith, Public Relations Manager at Angus Steakhouse, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanks for your feedback! We pride ourselves on the quality of our steaks, carefully choosing each and every cut for the very best. We hope to welcome you back to Angus Steakhouse again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Dont go to the Haymarket location around the corner.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Really, I am not joking.
Don't go to the version on Haymarket, just stay on the Coventry st and read their reviews before you decide!

We went with a group of 3 to have a nice steaklunch. There was 1 very capable balding, well dressed waiter. I felt sorry for him as the rest over there will make sure he is not getting any tips. The other waiter was a very very rude Asian woman.

All our orders were f'd up. A med-rare pepper steaks was med-well done at least. A blue fillet was mediuim and my med-rare special something cow fillet was blue & cold. I send mine back. After some time it came back warm, but as chewy as a rope. 26 GBP for 8 oz chewy fillet.
Sorry, but if you can;t get your steaks right in a slightly pricy steak restaurant... then I will not say anything positive!!

So, if you don't want to be the lucky guy who does get your steak right: chose another place!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannSmith, Public Relations Manager at Angus Steakhouse, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We're sorry to hear of your experience at our Haymarket branch. We do our very best to prepare our steaks to our customer's preference and I'm sorry if you were let down this time. Please do email us at info@angussteakhouse.co.uk with further information about your experience and we'll act immediately to address these issues. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Worth the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very good service, guest relations and food. They didnt charge for bread like the other steak house i've gone. They charged for cover 2£ but thats fair. Food is nice and portions was big enough. The atmosphere is very nice. Very well situated in picadilly. Staff is perfect. Recomended ;)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angus Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Angus Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angus Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.