We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Step up from a Hostel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Suite Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kensington Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Kensington Suite Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   128 Holland Road, London W14 8BD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #940 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Argyle, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“One Step up from a Hostel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

On our second return to London, we picked this place as it looked nice, and met our price range. While we were not terribly disappointed with the room, the room was quite small despite managing to fit a double bed inside.

The shower was tiny, and the lighting - particularly in the bathroom - could be better. The lack of space was highlighted by the inability to open one of the dresser drawers due to the TV mounted on the wall, and breakfast was a simple affair - primarily toast, cereal, and hardboiled eggs.

The location cannot be faulted - on two major bus routes and multiple train stations (above/underground) are within easy walking distance. This is also in zone 2 of London's zonal system, so you can save money on transport as well.

For those travelling on a budget, and wanting somewhere to store their bags and sleep with little else, this place is perfect. For those wanting a bit more luxury, this would not be a great place to stay.

Also - the internet is expensive and inconsistent. We tried using it, but gave up after the first couple of nights. As an example, Skype calls last for about 3 minutes before dropping out. The staff weren't the greatest either.

This is a great example of you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    41
    73
    48
    111
See reviews for
34
88
31
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

It's a safe pick if you're searching for a cheap place to stay at just for sleep. My friend and I went to London for a 4 day trip, and we spent most of time out of hotel, so by the time we were back in the room - well, we just wanted to fall on bed and sleep dead.
Another plus of it is that it's close to underground and big shopping center.

Can't say anything about breakfast, as we never attended it; cleaning was so-so, as we found a mop in our bathroom sink and some hairs in shower... Our room was really small, and although it had a huge window, it was curtained most of times - the view was some construction site with people working there. It was also right over the roof, so when it rained during night the sounds of it banging the roof woke us up several times. To get in bathroom... Well, you had to perform wonders of yoga, because door opened just a few cm away from toilet. What also disturbed us was a notice that staff does not take any responsibility for the personal belongings, so either lock everything in suitcase, or take it with you.
Staff left mixed feelings; one of receptionists was really friendly, other - quite gloomy and unsocial.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

One of my most terrible experience I have ever had with hotels, if not the worst of all. The most unfriendly staff, and the least helpful.

The room I stayed in had a wooden/ glass roof. It was raining on the night, and there was continuous ticking all night made it impossible to sleep. What made it worse is the very thin walls, so I would count how many times he has gone to the loo. Went to speak to the receptionist ''Ooh, it is only because it is raining''!!! '' no one on planned about this before ''. Asking to change the room, '' wait to speak to the manager in the morning''. He would not even say I am sorry!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Walking distance to the underground, this was a good location for exploring London without paying a fortune. Yes, the room was small, but we were only there to sleep, and it was clean and the breakfast was basic but quite adequate. Other guests were friendly at breakfast and overall the place had a good atmosphere. Can't imagine that you would get better value for money anywhere else in London

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I booked 6 nights at this hotel via a blind booking, so I was able to read the reviews only after I had payed for the booking, and I admit I was considering cancelling the stay and go elsewhere. In the end we showed up and all in all it wasn't such a bad stay. The room was tiny with a miniscule bathroom and no wardrobe or cupboard of any kind, but as we only needed a place to sleep, what we got was enough for us. It would be good though if management could provide at least a few more clothes hangers. Our room and bathroom were cleaned every day (the bathroom especially was always spotless) and the towels changed every day (which is a bit excessive).
Breakfast was not so brilliant but if you like your routine you are fine, as the food provided is always the same.
The hotel's strength is that it is 5 mins from the Tube station and the Overground, and a number of busses pass by Shepherd's Bush so going back to the hotel after a night out is never a problem.
A couple of tips: a) the breakfast room can get very crowded so the best time to have breakfast is before 8am;
b) ask for a room at the top of the hotel, overlooking the back, and you will sleep better. The hotel is on a major road and there is traffic at all hours.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel overlook a major road, so ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed in this hotel recently and it was brilliant. Perfect location, in the middle of where I needed to be. Staff were friendly and happy to help. Rooms were basic, but everything that you needed was there! The pictures don't do it justice, the rooms are bigger than they look. Would definitely stay again and would recommend it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed in Kensington Suites for three nights and can definitely recommend it. Staff is professional, rooms clean, good breakfast, there is a lift and a good size garden with patio. Definitely great value for money. The only one thing I did not like was the fact that there are only two TV channels. So I was forced to watch snooker. Yuk. If you don't mind it though then you'll be happy with your stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kensington Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Suite Hotel

Address: 128 Holland Road, London W14 8BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #940 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kensington Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kensington Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
Hotel Kensington Suite
Kensington Suite London
Kensington Suite Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.