We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely poor service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington to your Saves list
Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Westbourne Terrace, Paddington, London W2 3UY, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #584 of 1,066 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Extremely poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

very poor service from the manager, said he would ring me back all day and didnt, tried to ring him and the receptionist continually said he was busy! It was regarding an extremely important matter and i 100% would not use this chain of hotels again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nema D, General Manager at Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We value your feedback and it has been taken on board.

Kind Regards

Nema Da Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    255
    194
    86
    122
See reviews for
101
237
112
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cairo
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

The goods: great location, very friendly and helpful staff, clean
The bads: very very small room, could barely fit my bag and me, very over priced and doesn't live up to his announced stars rating
Would not recommend it much, there are plenty of better options in the neighbourhood

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nema D, General Manager at Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We value your feedback and it has been taken on board.

Kind Regards
Nema Da Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed here for my last night in London on a business trip earlier this year, I stayed an extra night to do some sightseeing and picked this hotel based on walking distance to Paddington train station and the Heathrow Express which I had to catch early in the morning. I was not expecting too much from this hotel and when I got to the room I was very surprised, it was very nice and they had some fruits and snacks waiting in the room, also refrigerator and microwave. Two large beds, large flat panel TV on the wall and the bathroom was modern. the neighborhood looked fine although I only walked from the train to the hotel and back a few times, I didn't eat or shop in the area. It was a very short walk to the train station and that was the main selling point for me. I would stay again if I'm in the area or need to catch an early train to the airport.

Room Tip: I stayed in a "club room", it was worth the few extra dollars I spent for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nema D, General Manager at Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments, we have taken them on board.

Comments like these motivates everyone at the Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington to go an extra mile.

On behalf of my team, I Once again thank you and look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards,

Nema Da Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The rooms were really clean and everything you needed was there. The only downside was that the rooms are pretty small. But overall it is a really nice and good hotel. They have a 24h reception what is really nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nema D, General Manager at Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments, we have taken them on board.

Comments like these motivates everyone at the Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington to go an extra mile.

On behalf of my team, I Once again thank you and look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards,

Nema Da Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

For the price, especially in London, the hotel can't be beat. Not too far from Paddington Tube Station makes for easy travel to the popular tourist places in London. Also there are plenty of food places around the area. The room is ok for a solo traveler, but does run quiet small. Overall was a great stay, the staff were very nice and the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nema D, General Manager at Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments, we have taken them on board.

Comments like these motivates everyone at the Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington to go an extra mile.

On behalf of my team, I Once again thank you and look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards,

Nema Da Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Staying in London is expensive. The plus points for this hotel (which I have stayed in several times are):
* Location - Very close to Paddington station and a few local places to eat
* Price - Hard to beat the room rate .... but do look out for deals, I have never paid the full price
* Breakfast - A very good breakfast buffet
* Friendly Staff - The porter was particulatly helpful on my last stay
* Wifi - Included in the price and it works
So if you want luxury ... get out your credit card and breath deeply .. or book here!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nema D, General Manager at Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments, we have taken them on board.

Comments like these motivates everyone at the Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington to go an extra mile.

On behalf of my team, I Once again thank you and look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards,

Nema Da Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our son was travelling internationally on his own for the first time, and when he arrived at this hotel was told that renovations were being done and he was being transferred to a neighbouring hotel. He was thrilled at the kindness, at the arrangements that had been made for him to stay at a higher rated hotel, and with the luxury car that had been booked to transfer him, and his huge amount of luggage for triathlon competitions. Although this is not a direct review of the accommodation, it is appropriate given the excellence in service. If the service and respect show was this outstanding, we are sure the accommodation would have been of a similar standard. Thanks from a very grateful Aussie Mum and Dad.xx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nema D, General Manager at Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments, we have taken them on board.

Comments like these motivates everyone at the Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington to go an extra mile.

On behalf of my team, I Once again thank you and look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards,

Nema Da Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington

Address: 55 Westbourne Terrace, Paddington, London W2 3UY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#326 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.