We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice while in central London, very clean, but small single rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington to your Saves list
Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Westbourne Terrace, Paddington, London W2 3UY, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #578 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent choice while in central London, very clean, but small single rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington Hotel is definitely your best choice while in central London and you are described as budget traveller. The management of Shaftesbury brand has well managed to offer a very clean rooms (unlike most 4* hotels in London) and above all the location of this specific hotel is just 5 minutes walk from the great Paddington station. This gives travellers accessibility to Heathrow express ( From/To) airport + underground ease to all London metro station. The neighbourhood is also a big plus as there are lots of restaurants , coffeehouses, bars, and groceries around you within 3 to 10 minutes walking distance. Breakfast should be enhanced though as well as employing english-speaking cleaning staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swapnil W, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and the team is very happy to hear that your overall stay went excellent.

Thank you for the good comments on the front desk staff being helpful.

Please do come back to stay with us the next time, we will love to see you again and help you to create some unforgettable memories.

Warm Regards,

Swapnil Waghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    254
    193
    85
    122
See reviews for
101
235
112
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

After reading other reviews here on tripadvisor my expectations werent so high- however i was pleasantly surprised ! I had booked a twin room as my friend and i were visiting london to go to the theatre. The room was a fine size with two very comfortable double beds with extra pillows. I had requested a bath tub which we got and even though the bathroom was small it was modern and had everything we needed. The staff at the front desk were very helpful. The breakfast was good with lots of variety. The best thing about the hotel is the location- it is 3 minutes from the Paddington station. I would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swapnil W, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us again at Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington, Once again thank you for this wonderful feedback It humbles us in a way.

Thank you so much for the comments and the team are so pleased that you had a great time, Your feedback is being shared with the entire team and I am sure will energize all, We thank you very much for your kind appreciation of our hotel and its services.

It’s been our pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to many more visits seeing you again.

Regards,

Swapnil Waghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapporo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent 100 pounds for this hotel to stay one night. Receptionist at the Shaftesbury Premier main building told us to pay here and go across the street and then the another receptionist will tell us which room we will be staying. We paid and went to the building they told, and the receptionist told us the lift is broken and we have to take stairs to 6th floor. We were not happy to pay the full price with this service. We walked up to 6th floor and put our luggage to the room and went down to speak to the receptionist where we paid. The receptionist didn't know about the broken lift and without the manager she cannot do anything. She mentioned the hotel manager will come at 7am next day. Next morning we went again to the reception to speak the situation with the hotel manager and receptionist told us that hotel manager's wife is sick and doesn't know when he come in. The receptionist said, they know our contact e-mail address so, definitely hotel manager will write to us. Of course after one month, no e-mail so far.
Summarize this hotel: no lift, no hair dryer, broken power point, no mini bar, no fridge, broken bathroom door, dirty window, no responsibility

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swapnil W, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We apologize for the inconvenience caused because of the reallocation to our sister concern property, Secondly you had to take the stairs all the way to the sixth floor.

Please get in touch with me on 0207723 3434 and i would like to speak to you personally and apologize for all the inconvenience caused.

regards,

Swapnil Waghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Took a cheap room at the last minute, but it was in the basement. Decor was OK, but it was only as big as it needed to be and not an inch more. The first room I was given was supposed no smoking room wreaked of smoke. However, they moved me to another room without fuss, but this one had an ill fitting fire exit that let in huge amounts of freezing cold air. OK at a pinch, but beware the cheap rooms ... they all seem to be cramped and in the basement.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swapnil W, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback and apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

I would like to inform you that our hotel doesn't have any smoking rooms, However will definitely look into the points raised and give them a serious consideration.

Due to the Victorian style buildings we cannot do much changes in regards to the room size but can advise you to book Club rooms which is more spacious than other category of rooms.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Swapnil Waghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Price quality ratio ok. Tiny room (there are bigger ones) where wardrobe and bathroom doors do not open fully as not enough space. Flatscreen tv in room did not work on arrival, guy there in 5 minutes to try to fix it but without success. Told me that it would be fixed next morning, but when arriving back in the evening it did still not work. After a word with the reception desk (and getting back to the hotel after dinner) the TV did work! No WLAN signal in the room, only in lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a twin room if traveling alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swapnil W, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback given to us, I would like to inform you that due to these Victorian style buildings we cannot do any changes to the room size but definitely in future if you wish to book a room please book Club room which is more spacious.

I have noted your points mentioned regarding and will definitely pass on to my maintenance department to rectify the problem.

We are working on the Wireless connection and it will be fixed very soon.

Please do come back to stay with us the next time, we will love to see you again and help you to create some unforgettable memories.

Warm Regards,

Swapnil Waghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel was Ok for an overnight stay in London. Good location for transport links around London being close to Paddington station and lots of buses available every few minutes.

Staff were smartly dressed and polite.

Rooms and public areas were clean.

There were a few draw backs however. The first being the room was very small. On entering the room, if you opened the door too fast or too wide, the door hit the wardrobe that was directly behind it. If you had a large suitcase or if you were a large person you would actually struggle to get into the room.

It was also very noisy. The floor boards were extremely creaky in our room and the next room. To the extent that we could hear every movement the people in the next room made. It wasn't a great nights sleep due to the noise in the hotel and from outside the window.

Bathroom was also small and it had a really small shower. Difficult for a larger person to use.

Our TV only worked in black & white and the bedside lamp kept flickering.

Mirror and light in bathroom was damaged.

Breakfast overpriced we thought, you would be better eating at one of the nearby cafes/restaurants.

Overall, although this review contains some negative comments it was an OK place to stay one night. One night was probably enough though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swapnil W, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback given which is of great importance to us, as on the basis of this we strive hard towards improving our standard and service level.

Thank you for the good comments on location as we are blessed with it, having our hotel very close to Paddington station.

I would personally like to inform you that due to these Victorian buildings we can hardly do any changes with the room size.
I have noted the points mentioned regarding maintenance issues and will give them a serious consideration and see to it that it is not repeated.

It’s been our pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to many more visits seeing you again.

Regards,

Swapnil Waghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Hotel is a nice hotel at a very nice area near o Paddington station. Breakfast is nice And has a lot of variety.
You walkm4 mino Paddington station. Alsoa lot of shops nearby.?
Lift but no reception.
You can walk to Edgewarre road and to Oxford St and Marble Arch

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swapnil W, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you mentioned about the hotel and the area thank you so much for that as we are blessed with having such kind of location.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Swapnil Waghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington

Address: 55 Westbourne Terrace, Paddington, London W2 3UY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#326 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.