We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington to your Saves list
Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Westbourne Terrace, Paddington, London W2 3UY, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #567 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“OK but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Took a cheap room at the last minute, but it was in the basement. Decor was OK, but it was only as big as it needed to be and not an inch more. The first room I was given was supposed no smoking room wreaked of smoke. However, they moved me to another room without fuss, but this one had an ill fitting fire exit that let in huge amounts of freezing cold air. OK at a pinch, but beware the cheap rooms ... they all seem to be cramped and in the basement.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swapnil W, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback and apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

I would like to inform you that our hotel doesn't have any smoking rooms, However will definitely look into the points raised and give them a serious consideration.

Due to the Victorian style buildings we cannot do much changes in regards to the room size but can advise you to book Club rooms which is more spacious than other category of rooms.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Swapnil Waghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    244
    187
    82
    119
See reviews for
97
227
109
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Price quality ratio ok. Tiny room (there are bigger ones) where wardrobe and bathroom doors do not open fully as not enough space. Flatscreen tv in room did not work on arrival, guy there in 5 minutes to try to fix it but without success. Told me that it would be fixed next morning, but when arriving back in the evening it did still not work. After a word with the reception desk (and getting back to the hotel after dinner) the TV did work! No WLAN signal in the room, only in lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a twin room if traveling alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swapnil W, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback given to us, I would like to inform you that due to these Victorian style buildings we cannot do any changes to the room size but definitely in future if you wish to book a room please book Club room which is more spacious.

I have noted your points mentioned regarding and will definitely pass on to my maintenance department to rectify the problem.

We are working on the Wireless connection and it will be fixed very soon.

Please do come back to stay with us the next time, we will love to see you again and help you to create some unforgettable memories.

Warm Regards,

Swapnil Waghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel was Ok for an overnight stay in London. Good location for transport links around London being close to Paddington station and lots of buses available every few minutes.

Staff were smartly dressed and polite.

Rooms and public areas were clean.

There were a few draw backs however. The first being the room was very small. On entering the room, if you opened the door too fast or too wide, the door hit the wardrobe that was directly behind it. If you had a large suitcase or if you were a large person you would actually struggle to get into the room.

It was also very noisy. The floor boards were extremely creaky in our room and the next room. To the extent that we could hear every movement the people in the next room made. It wasn't a great nights sleep due to the noise in the hotel and from outside the window.

Bathroom was also small and it had a really small shower. Difficult for a larger person to use.

Our TV only worked in black & white and the bedside lamp kept flickering.

Mirror and light in bathroom was damaged.

Breakfast overpriced we thought, you would be better eating at one of the nearby cafes/restaurants.

Overall, although this review contains some negative comments it was an OK place to stay one night. One night was probably enough though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swapnil W, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback given which is of great importance to us, as on the basis of this we strive hard towards improving our standard and service level.

Thank you for the good comments on location as we are blessed with it, having our hotel very close to Paddington station.

I would personally like to inform you that due to these Victorian buildings we can hardly do any changes with the room size.
I have noted the points mentioned regarding maintenance issues and will give them a serious consideration and see to it that it is not repeated.

It’s been our pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to many more visits seeing you again.

Regards,

Swapnil Waghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Hotel is a nice hotel at a very nice area near o Paddington station. Breakfast is nice And has a lot of variety.
You walkm4 mino Paddington station. Alsoa lot of shops nearby.?
Lift but no reception.
You can walk to Edgewarre road and to Oxford St and Marble Arch

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swapnil W, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you mentioned about the hotel and the area thank you so much for that as we are blessed with having such kind of location.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Swapnil Waghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

The room we got was a fantastic club room, having read mixed reviews, i was a little concerned about our stay, on , arrival, we were told we had been given an upgrade. Staff was all fairly friendly. Think they have reduced their prices, as we got quite a good price on their own website. Lication is brilliant, 2 min walk to the tube and a few shops. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swapnil W, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and your appreciation on our overall service is most welcome and I’m sure everyone will be happy to hear that.

It’s been our pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to many more visits seeing you again.

Thank you once again for such a wonderful feedback.

Regards,

Swapnil Waghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I was there for my 50th anniversary i was checked in swiftly by the front desk staff got a free upgrade to a club room, spacious room with all the amenities required. good location, internet usage was free of cost where other hotels in London charge heavily.our stay was very comfortable in all aspects we really enjoyed but our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swapnil W, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your 50th wedding anniversary and i hope you will remember this day forever.

Thank you for the overall satisfaction you have mentioned and we are very happy to hear this from you.

Your feedback is being shared with the entire team and I am sure will energize all, We thank you very much for your kind appreciation of our hotel and its services.

We wish to see you soon till then best wishes from our team.

Warm Regards,

Swapnil Waghe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkestan, Kazakhstan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Booked this hotel online got a very good rate, rooms are clean, good breakfast and very good service.
Wi-fi would be much appreciated in rooms but no hassle free broadband connection in public areas.
will return back definitely on my next visit.

Room Tip: book for a club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swapnil W, Manager at Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the comments and the team are so pleased that you are having a great time,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and it’s great to know that your overall stay went off well. Once again thank you for this wonderful feedback It humbles us in a way.

We are in a process to get Wi-Fi in the rooms and it will be done very shortly.

It’s been our pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to many more visits seeing you again.

Regards,

Swapnil Waghe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington

Address: 55 Westbourne Terrace, Paddington, London W2 3UY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#319 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, WHM Global Ltd., Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Venere, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;