We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always impressed with this one!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Celtic Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Celtic Hotel
Save
You added Celtic Hotel to your Saves list
61-63 Guilford St., London WC1N 1DD, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Lingfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Always impressed with this one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was our 3rd time at the hotel, and just like before it was Great! Lovely staff, very clean and comfortable rooms and a good breakfast (we have had some shockers in London) the price is good for the location - steps away from Russell Square tube, Tesco, a shopping mall! The shared facilities were always super clean and good quality, We have stayed in many different hotels in Bloomsbury but i can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    108
    29
    5
    1
See reviews for
54
58
42
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cagliari
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Every time I come back to the Celtic I come back to my London Home. Clean, central, friendly as usual, Mrs Marazzi and their sons do the best to welcome you and to offer their friendly hospitality. Year after year they always work at their best to give you a pleasant time in London. For easter with the usual Full English Breakfast they offer us free small chocolate Easter Eggs and chocolate bars. A certainty if you like a clean friendly not expensive place where to stay in Central London.

Room Tip: Back rooms are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

A very clean hotel close to all amenities. Very kind and helpful staff. Worth every penny paid. Will always remember this short stay and recommend it. Will visit again for sure :-))

Carmen Degabriele Malta

Room Tip: Good value for every penny paid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My daughter and I spent a week there last month, and were delighted.

This is a family run operation, headed by the delightful Mrs. Marazzi, just off Russell Square. Convenient to bus and Tube, and easy walking distance to Covent Garden and the West End, not to mention the fun pubbing of Fitzrovia, Lamb's Conduit and Great Ormond Street.

We had a communication mixup about the room, but Mrs. Marazzi did everything she could to resolve our concerns and make sure we were satisfied.

Breakfast is the real star at the Celtic, in a large mirrored room on the lobby floor with white tablecloths and uniformed servers who scurry to meet your every wish. You order from a menu. The mushrooms here are fresh, and the coffee is Italian style and very good. Perfectly poached eggs, good toast, grapefruit, excellent bacon.

Room Tip: Our first night we had room #20 on the second floor, a basic room with shower next door and bath a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I was told by friends that if I were going to see the British Museum I should definitely stay here and I gave it a try, even though I normally go for 4* Hotels or plus. The Hotel was just fine, excellent value for money, location was incredible - right by the underground and only a few minutes walk from the Museum and Soho. But what made it for me was the staff who couldn't do more to make us happy and possibly the best freshly cooked to order English breakfast I had in a Hotel for a long time. Staff told us it is ran by a family who has been running this Hotel and others for over 80 years so no wonder they are so good at it. They have just something special that the bigger Hotels cannot offer. It is now my preferred secret place in London. Recommended.

Room Tip: No need to pay more for shower facilities in the room if you are on a budget or left late to book, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Immaculate hotel in convenient yet quiet location, around the block from the Russell Square underground, which is on the Picadilly Line, which goes directly to Heathrow. We stayed in two rooms, No. 19, which was a large twin room on the third floor, and No. 15 which was a small twin on the second. No. 19 was very roomy and comfortable, with a small but adequate bathroom. No. 15 was definitely "cozy", just enough room for twin beds with maybe 12-18" between them. There will be a lot of bumping into your companion, and as others have said the toilet is in a very small room, I am 5"6" and slim, and there was maybe 6" of clearance from my knees to the door, maybe less. The sink was literally 6x12 inches. The stairs are steep and high, so if you are an ample person and/or not in shape, you may find this hotel challenging. I found the beds somewhat uncomfortable, I could feel the springs in the mattress.

Nonetheless, I would definitely stay here again, it was safe and was excellent value for London.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

located celtic by location,that area of london recommeded as central, residential and safe.and of course the very resonable price[after extensive $ search]in expensive london...russell sq tube just around the corner on direct line from/to heathrow,shopping mall and grocery store right there beautiful russell park adjacent with lovely cafe in the park w outdoor seating and fine italian staff and COFFEE, main street goes down to the river w many chain and nice restraunts to choose short walk to stunning FREE british museum which needs a few days to enjoy repeatedly, walkable to brit library, trafalgar sq,soho, london university campus with tube pass the whole city is easily accessed, try to avoid eve rush hour as cram packed and any delays foul the whole system, celtic was priced right with adequate breakfast in pleasant room [rate solid MIDDLE class] by sweet hostess and pleasant helpful staff all around, comfy public space needed for free wifi access very clean in rooms, they moved me twice to accomodate my last minute reservation, 7 nite stay, clean bathrooms lotsa hot h2o and clean linen and nice towels. i was there in november there were no crowds anywhere at attractions and museums.[hoo and ray] wx was fine but cool, rained some but an umbrella and spending the days in the not crowded museums was what i was about anyway so , fine w me! find nearby north sea for the best, largest seafood dinner found. try halibut. took river boat for daytrip to greenwich. tower needs whole day. couthard art gallery hidden compact jewel

Room Tip: to me, price,, location, and a comfy bed make a 'good room'
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Celtic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Hotel

Address: 61-63 Guilford St., London WC1N 1DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Celtic Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celtic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.