We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, brilliant atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barrafina

Barrafina
54 Frith Street | Soho, London W1D 4SL, England (Soho)
+44 20 7813 8016
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 17,039 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $72 - $72
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Barrafina is an authentic Spanish tapas bar located in London's Soho. It serves a traditional but contemporary, regional a la carte menu and there is a daily blackboard of specials, created by Executive Head Chef, Barragan Mohacho. Barrafina operates a first come first serve queuing system, and does not take reservations for their 23 stools. However, part of the fun of dining there is eating little bites and sipping on something delicious while making the line. The kitchen is open and guests are close to all the action and drama while their food is prepared.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delicious food, brilliant atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I would absolutely recommend barrafina. Go early if you don't want to queue as there is a no booking policy. It is well worth the wait however. The staff were extremely knowledgeable and the food was outstanding.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    175
    36
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We have had the most amazing two evenings at Barrafina in January. Our son and partner eat here regularly and recommended the restaurant to us it was amazing, totally London!! Don't worry about the queues they disappear in not too long. Just order starters and drinks, the staff are wonderful. If you have 4 or more guests try to get the corner of the bar it is worth the wait!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Spanish start to the weekend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Chosen from a friends recommendation and somewhere we didn't need to book. Queued round the perimeter whilst waiting for two (out of 25 ish) seats at the bar. We were told it would be an hour, it was over two... So a bad start! The food did make up for it; absolutely stunning, would highly recommend!! Atmosphere and service very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Fantastic food with daily changing specials so there's always something new to try. The atmosphere here is great with everyone sat round the bar eating. One of my favourite eateries in London by far.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Theatre with food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I found myself in London with an evening to waste. As I was on y own I decided to do something different and set about finding somewhere with a big reputation to see if it did the business. Barrafini did not disappoint.

I arrived early, 5.05pm following it opening at 5pm Nd there were 4 of the 20 or so buffets left available. I was lucky, I got a seat right away! My seat was overlooking the chef's pass and so was like watching a performance from a master. Every single dish went past his hands, even the meat platter was inspected and passed.

I watched as a chef prepared my batch of padron pimientos to perfection with a deliciously fresh tomato bread. The seating is great, although people quickly start filling up behind you queuing for a seat, they are not at all obtrusive.

A couple of main courses of pork belly and octopus were carefully prepared by my performer in front of my eyes, the attention to detail was staggering.

I washed down my feast with a couple of bottles of cerveza and was done by about 6.30. The place was very full, but those waiting know the score. The restaurant has a no reservation policy so you turn up and wait.

It was not cheap, but good food isn't. Being able to watch a master perform was worth paying for in itself. £50 for one andI was not greedy.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrafina also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Barrafina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrafina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.