We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and friendly atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barrafina

Barrafina
54 Frith Street | Soho, London W1D 4SL, England
+44 20 7813 8016
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 16,892 restaurants in London
Price range: $72 - $72
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Barrafina is an authentic Spanish tapas bar located in London's Soho. It serves a traditional but contemporary, regional a la carte menu and there is a daily blackboard of specials, created by Executive Head Chef, Barragan Mohacho. Barrafina operates a first come first serve queuing system, and does not take reservations for their 23 stools. However, part of the fun of dining there is eating little bites and sipping on something delicious while making the line. The kitchen is open and guests are close to all the action and drama while their food is prepared.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I was on my lucky day because I did not have to queue. I tried the plain tortilla, the artichokes and the chickpeas with spinach and bacon and a glass of red wine and they were all perfectly cooked and tasty. It is short of 5 stars just because it may be a bit on the expensive side for a lunch break. Having said so, I will definitely go back.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    440
    124
    23
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband has wanted to try this restaurant for a long time but the queue was normally out of the door. We got there straight after a show at approx 5.30pm & was told we'd have to wait approx 45 mins. There was 1 other couple waiting to be seated before us. We had a couple of cava's & some food whilst we waited. The time went v quick. True to word, we were seated approx 45 mins later. The food was the best tapas we've had & the service exceptional. The staff are very efficient but make you feel very important. How they do it when they're as busy as they are, I have no idea. Now want to try their sister restaurant as this is only really suitable for couples I think.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Try the Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

If you don't mind queuing, you will be rewarded with an excellent casual experience. All fish is good.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Innovative food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Fantastic restaurant - some really innovative food like Spanish Barnacles. A bottle of cava with lots of small quality dishes.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Spaniards in the rain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great london classic joint
Tapas that make sense; the menu is very clever as the all concept, bibg a book along you will have to wait in order to have a dinner space. Otherwise aim to be ther for 5'45 pm to be seated at the evening reopening 6pm,
Frith street is anyway busy so time goes quiet fast

N'joy

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrafina also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Barrafina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrafina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.