We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing night in Barrafina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barrafina

Barrafina
54 Frith Street | Soho, London W1D 4SL, England
+44 20 7813 8016
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 17,147 Restaurants in London
Price range: $72 - $72
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Barrafina is an authentic Spanish tapas bar located in London's Soho. It serves a traditional but contemporary, regional a la carte menu and there is a daily blackboard of specials, created by Executive Head Chef, Barragan Mohacho. Barrafina operates a first come first serve queuing system, and does not take reservations for their 23 stools. However, part of the fun of dining there is eating little bites and sipping on something delicious while making the line. The kitchen is open and guests are close to all the action and drama while their food is prepared.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing night in Barrafina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

What a fabulous meal my husband and I had in Barrafina. Yes, you'll need to queue for a seat but remember this, it's completely worth it and not to be missed. Amazing atmosphere and super quality dishes, in particular the seafood. Staff really helpful with recommendations and great service. Next time I'm in London, I'll definitely be in the queue for Barrafina.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    462
    129
    25
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to this restaurant. We didn't hold out much hope of getting in at 7.30pm on a Saturday night. On arriving we were told the wait would be approximately an hour - and it was. The food and service as usual was superb. Simply cannot fault this restaurant. It deserves it's place as the best tapas restaurant in London.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and lively atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I visited Barrafina last Thursday evening and had to wait but even waiting was fun as there was a lively atmosphere and we were able to have a glass of wine and tapas. We were warned about the wait so no complaints there. Once we were seated there was no pressure despite being busy and the staff were friendly and happy to let us choose at our leisure. The quality of food and wine was superb and well worth the wait. There is a mandatory service charge which for me is the only let down.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“superb food, atmosphere and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Having been put off by the queues in the past we came to the restaurant after 2.30pm for a late lunch. We got the only two seats available. Service was quick, friendly and the atmosphere was relaxed. The food was excellent especially the chicken thighs in the romesco sauce. Not one bad dish. A good bottle of wine and a couple of excellent waitress chosen sherries later we decided to leave. We sat through the staff lunch, chatted to our waitress and were made to feel welcome even though this was obviously their down time. We left as the 5pm diners were allowed in. Fabulous.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“3rd visit & gettin better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Great spanish tapas in heart of soho, Friendly staff loads of smiles , fast service once u get a stool.
Chilled atmosphere but only go near the end of lunch service so don't que.
usually order loads of dishes fish seafood meat & veg, the specials are the best but think the salads & veg could be more exciting & different , also everything is very over dressed in oil .
Prices from £4 to £15

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrafina also viewed

 

Been to Barrafina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrafina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.