We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the bad service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masaledar Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Masaledar Restaurant
121 Upper Tooting Road, London SW17 7TJ, England
+44 (0)20 8767 7676
Improve this listing
Ranked #11,629 of 17,938 Restaurants in London
Price range: $37 - $37
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian, Pakistani, Halal
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth the bad service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Having read all the reviews about the bad service, I agree that the service is slow but try other restaurants and surely the bad service is worth the wait - we go at least once a week and it is always just delicious with perfect herbs and spices and just the best Indian food I have found in London so far in my restaurant search - the Tarka Dahl is out of this world ....

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    6
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stumbled upon this restaurant and have to say the food is amazing. Priced very well too. The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere and interior is comfortable....not the bog standard. Manager was very helpful and made sure we were ok. Lamb biryani is definitely a favourite.....I would definitely recommend this place...wonderful food at a brilliant price!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Shame about the service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

After visiting this restaurant before and visiting again because the food is good, unfortunately the service as before was very poor and un-attentive. There is more than enough staff on to provide the restaurant with fast, friendly service but it just doesn't seem to happen. It's a shame as the food is nice and the menu has a variety of choice. Because of the service I'm less likely to return as there are many other great Indians in the area and closer to come that provide it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food and terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I am a big fan of Mirch Masala down the road, but have tried this restaurant a few times as someone suggested eating there... Really disappointing.

Personally I think the food is brilliant and if you have a take way I don't think the food suffers at all. When I pick the food up, there was no problem, though ordering for delivery was terrible. On both occasions, the food took 90-100 minutes to arrive, and one of those orders was a Wednesday night. Not good enough, and when I phoned up to find out where the food was, the telephone manner of the person on the other end is always terrible; noisy, rude and abrupt and with no apology. Shame the service is terrible...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Noisy but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is my second time here. The first time we had a private room for about 12 guests but this time it was for four. We found the next door table people very loud and then a large party arrived who were even more noisy. I guess this is not the fault of the management and partitioning would reduce space for covers. The low level of lighting made it difficult for us to read the menu. The food was OK but not as good as last time; mind you I am very fussy when it comes to Indian cuisine as I cook it myself. The service was just fine even though it was very busy in there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masaledar Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Masaledar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masaledar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.