We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Stayed in the Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Jam Cupboard

The Jam Cupboard
61 Gloucester Road | The Rydges Hotel, London SW7 4PE, England (South Kensington)
020 7584 8100
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Jam Cupboard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,219 of 17,041 Restaurants in London
Price range: $32 - $65
Cuisines: European, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: South Kensington
Description: The Jam Cupboard, located within the suave Rydges Kensington London, has turned the hotel restaurant on its head, becoming much more than a convenient place to dine, but a destination in its own right. A sleek, minimalist design awaits visitors to The Jam Cupboard, where chilled lounge music with modern beats provides the soundtrack to your visit. Young and happening, The Jam Cupboard provides a menu in keeping with its fast growing reputation, a modern British collection of dishes taking inspiration from international flavours, giving typical UK dining a whole different twist. The Jam Cupboard bar serves not only fine wines but excellent cocktails. Just a short stroll from Gloucester Road tube in a typical grand old Victorian hotel building, The Jam Cupboard is the breath of fresh air that Kensington has been looking for.
rhinobasket
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“OK Stayed in the Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Limited menu , Good wine , Good service and atmosphere and quick service before going out to theatre.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at The Jam Cupboard, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I thank you so much for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back next time to the Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    45
    15
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant meal on a wet London day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We were wandering in Kensington, on a dampish day, when we spotted, through the rain running off our glasses, a sign saying The Jam Cupboard. The word "jam" is enough to make me salivate so we entered the premises and sat down for lunch.

We had thought the set menu would be available, but our assumption was wrong. This was a matter mainly of our misunderstanding, though the signage could be clearer. We wound up ordering sandwiches with salad and fresh crisps, accompanied by sparkling water. My wife's tomato and mozzarella, and my smoked salmon, were excellent, the price was moderate for the area, and the service was both friendly and efficient. (And the staff had to cope with a fairly large group from a conference.)

It's a very attractive and pleasing space, the food was good and the experience more than convinced us that it would be worthwhile returning to The Jam Cupboard for a set menu dinner next time we're in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at The Jam Cupboard, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
It is very pleasing to read your feedback and I am so glad that your meal and experience was enjoyable. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave some feedback about your meal, I look forward to sharing it with my team. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are passing through.

Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Excellent breakfast, nice clean restaurant, staff courteous and attentive
Well presented food, with quirky touches - bottles of juice etc

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at The Jam Cupboard, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent experience with us and thank you very much for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Traditional European Continental breakfast with meats, cheeses, pastry, juices...very convenient and nice.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at The Jam Cupboard, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Your feedback is greatly appreciated, thank you very much for taking the time to provide some feedback to us.

Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I had a set meal at the restaurant whilst staying a couple of days at the hotel. The set meal is reasonably priced and food quality was good. Service was quick and efficient but the restaurant was virtually empty which may have assisted in the ease of service for customers. If staying at the hotel would definitely use the restaurant again. Much better than your average hotel restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at The Jam Cupboard, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to utilise the Hotel facilities. I hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jam Cupboard also viewed

 

Been to The Jam Cupboard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jam Cupboard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.