We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of London's best kept secrets.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ffiona's

Ffiona's
51 Kensington Church Street, London W8 4BA, England (Kensington and Hyde Park)
+44 (0)20 7937 4152
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #983 of 16,892 restaurants in London
Price range: $78 - $78
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Kensington and Hyde Park
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of London's best kept secrets.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

One of London's best kept secrets. Good home style cooking, real food , friendly service at reasonable prices. This restaurant should be on everyone's speed dial.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    70
    38
    8
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cozy dining, tasty food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Fffiona's is a wonderful little restaurant with great food and a homey, warm atmosphere presided over by Ffiona herself. She clearly loves what she does both in the way she treats all her guests and the thought she puts into the menu. There's no pretension in either the food or the service but that doesn't mean that they're not both first rate. I made the reservation from the U.S. and said we'd be celebrating our anniversary, and the experience was everything we wanted to mark the occasion. We especially loved when she sat down to chat with us at the end of our meal. The place was busy but she still made the effort to make us feel very special. This is definitely a place to return to often.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service and tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

It was our first visit to the restaurant, but we were greeted like old friends and they were able to cater for 10 of us (including 3 kids aged 2, 4, & 6), very well. Great atmosphere and in my opinion both the food and drinks were top notch. We went for Brunch and getting 12 eggs out cooked well at the same time is no mean feat for a small bistro.
Wait until you hear the specials before ordering, and be prepared for a big personality when you get there!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Have been quite a few times to Ffionas - but only for dinner. Its normally lovely. However we recently went to try the brunch and was slightly disappointed. It was busy and the service was minimal. The food was average, with the pancakes being best ! Ended up being quite an expensive brunch which I don't think we will try again. I will however try a dinner again in the future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, VA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Friendly Ffiona's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Ffiona's is all about the owner--Ffiona. Her sparkling personality is evident everywhere. From the moment you walk in the door, you are a "honey or a love" and you feel as if you've been friends for years. The restaurant is small and tables are tucked close together. The acoustics are atrocious but somehow is doesn't matter because Ffiona takes your mind off of such insignificant
details. The menu at our Sunday lunch visit was quite large for what I can only imagine as a tiny kitchen downstairs. But both of the dishes we ordered and those I saw making their way to other tables looked divine. I opted for the brunch special of a chorizo and sweet potato hash which was hot, spicy and forever changed my view of hash. My husband had the "soup and a side" and fully enjoyed his veggie soup and fried calamari. Drinks and wine are available as well as specialty coffees and teas. Ffiona herself is the star performer here although both her excellent wait staff and chef make her look good as well. She has been at this for quite some time and somehow it works and satisfyingly so!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ffiona's also viewed

 

Been to Ffiona's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ffiona's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.