We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting better all the time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ffiona's

Ffiona's
51 Kensington Church Street, London W8 4BA, England (Kensington and Hyde Park)
+44 (0)20 7937 4152
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,402 of 17,998 Restaurants in London
Price range: $78 - $78
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Kensington and Hyde Park
London
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Getting better all the time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We've been going to Ffiona's off and on for many years, and our last visit has proved that things just keep getting better. Chicken kiev (yes it *is* the best in the world), roast pork, traditional fish and chips, lamb... all excellent, and then the desserts... ginger cheesecake ... crumble, all delicious. The warm, friendly service tops off the experience perfectly. If you really want to know what being passionate about food is all about, this is the place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    42
    12
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving in London!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We went to Ffiona's for Thanksgiving dinner. She really has Thanksgiving down for a non-American. Her philosophy: If every country in the world celebrated Thanksgiving, the world would be a better place. So Ffiona does her part, offering a traditional Thanksgiving with turkey, roast potatoes, vegetables, stuffing and the best desserts I may have ever tried: a sticky toffee pudding, a fruit crumble and her famous sweet potato pie. All three were fantastic, and I usually prefer a chocolate dessert but didn't even miss the chocolate with these three.
She also does a brunch which looks amazing and which we will try the next time we are in London. If you are there for Thanksgiving, this is a great place to find yourself, in a small restaurant that feels like a friend's or aunt's house on Thanksgiving!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
“Unique Experience and Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My favorite restaurant in London, with the most personable hands-on owner. The 'Specials' chalkboard will serve everyones taste. Save room for desserts

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Sunday Roast in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you want to splurge a little and indulge the taste buds, go to Ffiona's for, in my opinion, the best Sunday roast in the city. Ffiona herself is a delight to chat with and the food is spot on. Go for the 3 courses and don't eat prior to going as you will fill up for sure. I highly recommend the ginger cheesecake (or the lemon cheesecake) ... or the sticky toffee pudding.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We loved Ffiona's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Found ourselves in the neighborhood after a walking tour of Kensington and had read about Ffiona's on Trip Advisor. It met and exceeded our expectations! Quirky decor, great food, and the best host!! Ffiona's sat at our table to chat with us and describe the dishes and specials on the menu. We loved the fish and chips and Chicken Kiev. Dessert was great too! This is a must if if you are in the neighborhood!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ffiona's also viewed

 

Been to Ffiona's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ffiona's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.