We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of sketch Glade

sketch Glade
9 Conduit Street | Mayfair, London W1S 2XG, England
020 7659 4500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,025 of 17,997 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: European, French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Michelin star-awarded Sketch offers a breathtaking gastronomic experience in the exclusive neighbourhood of Mayfair. The unique restaurant stretches over 4 spaces, covering everything from tea and pastries to French and European haute cuisine. A unique and vibrant gastro-brasserie lies at the heart of sketch. Conceived by Turner Prize winning artist Martin Creed and exemplary of the logical and welcoming systems that recur throughout his work, the floor, walls and furniture take the form of artworks inspired by the boundaries of art and functionality. The imaginative menu devised by French Master Chef Pierre Gagnaire, award-winning wines and fabulous service will ensure a magical dining experience. The Lecture Room and Library is a sophisticated and exclusive dining area, awarded its first Michelin Star in 2005, along with 5 AA Rosettes. The magical ambience of The Glade's Swarovski encrusted and sunset-strewn woodland bar provides guests a perfect lounge setting. Elegant Louis XV seating features in the quirky and eccentric patisserie, restaurant and bar of The Parlour. Experience breakfast, comfort food and afternoon tea until the last drink before home.
Sisteron, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Its probably the best place to enjoy an afternoon tea, the place its like a museum, the cake are good, and the scones perfect, ask for a champagne tea if u have the budget.
Thnaks for this moment unforgettable.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    69
    27
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A wonderful afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

From the minute we stepped through the door we knew we were in for something special. The staff are excellent and nothing's a problem, even asking them to take photo's when they were busy!! The food was delicious and we had so much fun taking turns to choose what we would eat next. The decor is amazing. The toilets are great. I've never taken a photo in the loo before!!! A bit like Willy Wonka meets fine dining!! All in all a really fabulous experience and would do it again in a heartbeat.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for an unusual afternoon tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was a repeat visit, courtesy of Sketch, as on a previous occasion I had not been entirely happy with my experience. This time, we had a lovely time. The Glade room makes for a more relaxed afternoon tea experience than the larger room in which dozens of people are seated for their afternoon tea. The staff were welcoming and extremely friendly, and the service was excellent. The tea (which last year had been disappointing) was 'proper' loose leaf tea, and the champagne was lovely. The sandwiches and cakes were delicious, as were the scones.
If you are after an unususal experience and keen on quirky decor, then you should give this place a go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff on Sea
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Amazing afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Got taken here for my 30th - wow!! The toilets alone are worth going for - think egg type individual pods that play music - very very cool.

We had afternoon tea each with champagne. Very reasonable - is £32 without champagne. Sandwiches were delish espec the quails egg and cucumber one. Scones divine. Cakes divine!!!

They also gave me a red chocolate birthday cake with candle and handwritten made message on it for me which just topped the day off superbly.

Definitely recommend. Will be coming back to try out the dinner at the michelin star restaurant they have! Boyfriend has been numerous times and also recommends the breakfast/brunch menu.

Superb.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One Time Was Enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Having heard about Sketch from a friend, we looked forward to the afternoon tea. While the experience was unique, it was not up to thirty-five pounds per person. The amount of food was meager, and the items appeared to be "out of a box" as opposed to freshly prepared in-house. We had spent the past eight days in other parts of England, and for a fraction of the price, we had enjoyed delicious scones and tea in many lovely tea rooms.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed sketch Glade also viewed

 

Been to sketch Glade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage sketch Glade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.