We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good quality no frills” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essenza

Essenza
210 Kensington Park Road | Notting Hill Gate, London W11 1NR, England (Notting Hill)
+44 (0)20 7792 1066
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Essenza is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6,307 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Price range: $23 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Notting Hill
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good quality no frills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Small restaurant, plain and clean, a little bit out of hand, but extremely reliable. Very close to Portobello Road, we ate here twice, at a time when other restaurants are shut. very fresh the food, very tasty the dishes, good wines (which we didn't take), very very good desserts, and, last but not least, good prices. I'm quite satisfied.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We visited Essenza on Monday for our wedding anniversary and having tasted the food and experienced the warm welcome from the owner and lovely staff we wish our anniversary was every day!)) Essenza is small and cozy, burrata,calamari and the seabass were delicious and the bill very reasonable for Notting Hill area.If you love italian food this is the place to go!)

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Reliable if you need an option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We used to live in Notting Hill so have tried all three Italian restaurants owned by the same people on Kensington Park Road. We went back to Essenza last Saturday as we were in the area.

We did not have a booking and were hungry so were very appreciative to get a table, the place is normally full at weekends and there was only one table free on our visit.

It is a small space, cramped and with tables too close together. You pretty much join the table next to you so not a place for intimate romantic sweet nothings whispered to one another or for confidential business discussions.

The food is cooked fresh, is quite tasty and the service is, mmm, ever so continental! Somewhat crazy, friendly smiling waiters who run around busily doing everything, just not always in the right order! Sometimes things get forgotten but are rectified with an apology, most of the time the service works fine.

I like Essenza. I won't say I love it. I do enjoy the food and atmosphere, the prices are normal for NH and the whole experience is worthwhile if popping in for a meal. I would describe it as perfect for casual dining, for more formal occasions or for special celebrations head elsewhere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
“Slightly overpriced, but great authentic Italian food, friendly staff in a lovely atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Slightly overpriced, but great authentic Italian food, friendly staff in a lovely atmosphere. The Spaghetti Vongole are to recommend!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Embarassing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

i took an overseas colleague here for dinner on a Friday night. When I made the reservation I was not told that they operated a two sitting dinner policy. Half the way through the meal we were told very rudely that we would need to vacate the table at 9.30. One waiter in particular was incredibly impolite. When 9.30 arrived we were told aggressively "You have to leave NOW" despite not having finished our drinks/evening. The food wasnt great either and it was horrendously expensive. I was mortified by this restaurant and will never again visit here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essenza also viewed

 

Been to Essenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essenza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.