We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another delicious lunch at Olivelli” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Olivelli

Ristorante Olivelli
9 St. Christopher's Place, London W1U 1NE, England (Formerly Paradiso Olivelli - Christopher's Place)
+44 (0)20 7486 3196
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,006 of 17,931 Restaurants in London
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Description: The Paradiso story began with Olivelli's Hotel and restaurant which was founded in 1934 by Sicilian-born Rita and Enrico Olivelli. Situated in Store Street - heart of Bohemian London, it quickly became a culinary haven for students from nearby RADA and established actors and actresses at London theatres.Olivelli's name spread rapidly thanks to its warm, friendly atmosphere and authentic, value-for-money food. Such was its reputation that the Marx Brothers insisted on eating at the restaurant on their one and only visit to England. Among other famous diners were the legendary 'naughty girl' Mae West, Danny Kaye, Mickey Rooney, Bob Hope and Liberace.When Sicilian-born Giovanni and Salvatore Salamone bought Olivelli in 1993 - the first of their popular chain of Olivelli Paradiso outlets (now known simply as Olivelli) across London - they took care to preserve the restaurant's unique characteristics, recreating its welcoming atmosphere and using only the finest, freshest ingredients sourced from Italy and nearby markets.Hardly surprising then that contemporary celebrities such as Mel Brookes, Eric Clapton, Kevin Spacey, Graham Norton, Ben Elton, and Jack Dee continue to dine at Olivelli restaurants.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Another delicious lunch at Olivelli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The food was fabulous as usual & lovely atmosphere, very Italian. Attentive, helpful, friendly waiters. Antipasto vegetariano & risotto dello chef - perfect! Desserts are just too yummy :) Would highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    41
    13
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would give it zero if Tripadvisor would let me!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

There are so many bad things about this poor excuse of a restaurant, I'm not even sure where to begin!

The waiter's were miserable, we barely got a grunt as an acknowledgement when we first sat down. We waited at least 20 before they took our order. The starters then took another 25 mins before they arrived! The main dishes took about an hour!

The plates were just dumped at our table, no smile, did not ask if we wanted pepper or parmesan. We had to request it, even then it took a while.

The waiter's seemed more interested in standing around, DRINKING ALCOHOL and chatting to each other rather than doing their job.

The food itself was just barely acceptable.

And to rub salt in to my wounds, they had the cheek to add in the service charge without asking.

In my opinion, generally run by a bunch of incompetent staff.

However, if I were to give a balanced review, I must say that I did notice that most of the other guests seemed to get more of the staff's attention. By the way, we were the only brown people in the restaurant - coincidence?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannySal, Owner at Ristorante Olivelli, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments on trip advisor.
We were very concerned to learn that the service of and food you received was not up to your expectations on your visit to our Restaurant.
After investigating the problem, we found that the slow service was partly due to a mix up of the food orders. We apologise that this affected you, but would like to stress that this was pure coincidence.
We are extremely sorry that you felt discriminated against, but we can assure you, that this was not the intention of our staff. At our restaurants everyone is welcome and is treated in the same way.
As for the waiters drinking, we have a strict no alcohol policy for staff and were assured by the manager that the staff are drinking water or soft drinks while at work and no alcohol was consumed at the time of your visit.
Nevertheless following your observations, we have taken the decision to install CCTV cameras in our bar area in order to monitor our staff more efficiently.
Once again we would like to apologise to you and your companions for the poor service you felt you received and want to assure you that we have taken note of your feedback.
The Restaurant trade is very competitive, so we do care very much about satisfying our customers and are trying very hard to do so.
We hope we will be able to convince you of our high standards another time and to welcome you back to one of our Olivelli Restaurants.
Kind Regards
Daniella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Family run feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a nice, but not quite great, dinner at Olivelli.

Good service. I'm not sure if the restaurant really is family owned, but it had that feel. The staff was speaking Italian among themselves, so we took that as a good sign.

Great bruchetta as an appetizer. My wife really enjoyed her main course (although neither of us can remember what it was; it was one of the daily specials). My pasta carbonara was OK but not great - too little sauce and kind of on the cool side.

Location on a side street - actually, more of a side alley - was good. Away from the bustle.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful food + above and beyond service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Thank you Olivelli staff for the warm welcome, the delicious meal, excellent and friendly service, and a special thank you to Paolo for rescuing my out-of-town colleague's precious scarf and going through the trouble of posting it to her. If you like Sicilian food, good wine, and a homey feel, you'll enjoy Ristorante Olivelli. I'll definitely return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“beautiful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

but oh the tiramasu was wonderful and the help was even better everyone was soo helpful with assisdtance on wine anbd food

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Olivelli also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Olivelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Olivelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.