We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced And overhyped” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yauatcha

Yauatcha
15 Broadwick Street, London W1F 0DL, England (Soho)
020 7494 8888
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Yauatcha is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #667 of 17,143 restaurants in London
Price range: $102 - $102
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Soho
london
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Overpriced And overhyped”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I went to Yauatcha looking forward to great dim sum. The room itself is fairly clubby with low booths a faux trendy west end vibe and fish behind perspex counters. The waiters were blatantly hired for their looks not waiting talent- one spoke almost unintelligible English and another couldn't explain what the dishes consisted of. The cocktails were nice but took ages to arrive. Onto the meal itself we had a selection of reasonable dim sum but nothing was at all delicious and if I'm honest they all tasted kind of the same, just a variety of pork, fish or random gloop. The meal was expensive at over £100 for two and utterly forgettable. I wouldn't return.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    621
    413
    154
    50
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Poor dim sum; overpriced, overhype. Uminaginative cooking...stay away.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I must have gone to a different Yauatcha than the other reviewers but no...its the same one.

Everyone has their own opinions but recent reviews highlighting explosion of tastes and standing up among the world's best do set up any readers' expectations to a level that this restaurant is likely to fail to meet.

Food quality is AVERAGE. There is no explosion of flavour in the mouth. The dim sum does not stand out among the average in London Chinatown and would not compete among the world's best. The char siew bun is among the worst I had. The pork siew mai is average. The scallop siew mai is average. The szechuan wonton is decent but not worth the price.

No...I think some reviewers are blown away by the environment but quality of food is nothing to write home about except on TA to advise other readers to stay away if possible from this overprice excuse of an establishment.

If you want to pay an exhorbitant price for average dim sum just for the atmosphere, so be it but I rather not pay to help them maintain the decor.

Prices: Way over price for that quality - examples: pork and prawn siu mai for £5.5 which normally cost £3 in Chinatown; Char Siew bun £3.8 - normal price £2.5 and bigger in Chinatown; shanghai dumplings - £6.5 while normal price is £3.5-4 in Chinatown.

Service: very slow...had to ask for everything twice and yet it seems like they have lots of people walking around...doing what I am not sure (FYI, we were there lunch time Saturday so it is busy but there were lots of staff walking around). We had to wait 15 mins for dessert and we could tell, the desserts were pre-made so not sure what the hold up was. We had to ask for the bill twice and had to wait another 5 mins before someone came along to take our credit cards.

Drinks: Since we were having dim sum and it was lunch time, we decided to stick to traditional chinese tea and didnt try the bar. There is an extensive tea menu BUT everything is by the pot and non-refillable like in Chinatown. Some of the more expensive teas - Oriental Beauty for example which cost £5 per pot is so diluted that we could hardly smell the flavours. Its more like hot water with some colouring. Shame on you Yautcha for doing this.

Would I go back? No even if some one offers to pay. I walked out so much poorer and still hungry. Never again for this. There are so many other better establishments around - Imperial China for example.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“If you like Chinese dim sum in western setting, it is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I'm not a Chinese food buff but I'll eat it and enjoy it if it is good. This place has the right balance of modern with a hint of oriental influence with its low seating and tables. The serving staff are primarily pretty East European girls in tight skirts and shirts showing off their great bodies (at least they were when i was there). Obviously done for effect by the management. The restaurant is configured on the ground floor and basement area, the latter being quite hot and stuffy when busy as the kitchen is also on this level. I've eaten in both areas and found the ground floor more comfortable and less claustrophobic. The food (dim sum) that I liked was very good, you can taste the quality. However this comes with a Chinese food caveat which is to say, it all tastes very samie, probably for the fact that almost everything in this place is drowned in soy sauce. Their desserts are top quality but at £8 each they are expensive.
It is a place where young Chinese frequent as well western couples.
I personally don't like grubby Soho so it is not a place I will frequent - i went due these couple of times due to commitments. There are much nicer Central London areas within walking distance of Soho.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Great restaurant just off Carnaby Street and around the corner from all the shops. Eat downstairs. Nice decor. Tasty food. Excellent non-alcoholic cocktails. Cakes available to buy upstairs. Good service. Quite a gem.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Food, Bar and Friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I went to this restaurant with my sister in December and loved it, the food and service are excellent, plus has a really good bar.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yauatcha also viewed

 

Been to Yauatcha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yauatcha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.