We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a pint near High Street Ken” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia

Britannia
1 Allen Street, Kensington, London W8 6UX, England (Earls Court)
+44 (0)20 7937 6905
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,196 of 16,890 restaurants in London
Price range: $26 - $43
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Earls Court
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place for a pint near High Street Ken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I met up with some friends for after-work drinks at the Britannia and we'll definitely be coming back. There is a very good selection of beer (including traditional ales) and Swedish cider, and there is a decent wine list as well. There is plenty of comfortable seating on leather sofas, chairs, and stools, and unlike many British pubs the Britannia has hardwood floors rather than carpets so there's no sickly stale beer smell. The wood-paneled interior is light and airy with a wood-burning fireplace. It's also open quite late for London - we didn't leave until almost 1am and never felt pressured to move out earlier.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    24
    26
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Argyle, Texas
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
“Our Neighborhood Pub (for one week)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The Britannia was near our hotel during a recent vacation to London. On our first visit we ordered the Sunday roast. It was a beautiful plate of food---well-seasoned beef and lots of delicious vegetables. We went a second time for fish and chips and it was just okay....but there is something very likeable about the place. Give it a try!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Relaxing, Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

When we are in London we always find time to go to the Britannia at least once. This trip we were in London for 6 nights and we went to the Britannia three time to eat and once to meet distant family for drinks. The entire staff are pleasant, welcoming and make you feel like you are one of their regulars. We had the Sunday Roast on Jan. 15,2012 and it was delicious. Anyone visiting London and are near Allen St . just off Kensington High St. should make the effort to go to the Britannia for a meal or just a drink. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Used to be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Solid British pub grub. They used to have "historic" fish and chips but with a change of restaurant management now just have standard fare. Pity. But still good enough.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“lovely place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

great service and we enjoyed the menu! Lovely place to relax and unwind!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Britannia also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.