We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Turkish in Central London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ishtar

Ishtar
10-12 Crawford St, London W1U 6AZ, England (Marylebone)
+44 20 72242446
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #751 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $38 - $53
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Turkish in Central London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Went to Ishtar last night. Was by complete chance we drove past and thought we would try it. We have never really tried Turkish restaurants in central London as we tend to go to Green Lanes.

This was a nice find. The food was actually really good. I had a main, my friend two starters. The main was great, really tasty.

The starters were ok too. The bread first time around was really nice, light fluffy and warm. The last lot was slightly overdone and crispy which meant my friend didn't finish the starter.

The waiting staff were polite, but as it was late not as attentive as maybe i would have liked. But I was really impressed with Sarhad.

I think he is the manager. We watched the way he dealt with a customer who wanted to bring her dog into the restaurant. He kept her happy, was attentive and gave her great customer service. He touched the dog, so both my friend and I watched him to see whether he continued serving or washed his hands. He used a sanitiser and thoroughly cleaned his hands. So for me this was the highlight as hygiene is very very important to me.

I have given Ishtar 4 stars as I think our own personal experience could have been slightly better, but the main was really good, hygiene top notch and Sarhad a pleasure to talk to. So I am sure we will be going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    70
    19
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Praising a member of staff at Ishtar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had a lovely dinner ,great starters, amazing dishes. We would like to praise Adrienn for making our dinner lovelier and comfortable with her professional service, beautiful smile, courteous hospitality and how compassionate she is about her job- you have a 5 star service. It is very rare to see such staff in London and to make you feel welcome. She deserves all the best in her career path. Thank you lovely Adrienn even my children loved you for being yourself:)
Jwan and family

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice place with a great potential.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Been two for dinner. Went down stirs. Live Turkish mini band. Belly dancer. Basic sitting could be much better with transformation. Good space. The service is good. The quality of food is good. Good at tension to any concern. Very friendly staff. I believe that this place has got the potential for a great Turkish night out. A lot more needed to redesign the space for the purpose

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent Turkish cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I've been here several times now, most recently in early May 2014, and it has never disappointed. The service is fast and friendly and the atmosphere is pleasant. I recently went at lunchtime and had the excellent value two course lunch menu. I had a tasty dish consisting of grilled halloumi and a spicy sausage as a starter. For the main course I had grilled lamb kebabs which were excellent. I would highly recommend this restaurant and it is certainly one of the best Turkish restaurants I've been to in London.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A very reasonable restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We have been going to Ishtar for many years. The food is fresh, nicely presented and lots of it. Very good value for money. The staff are very attentive and all of them including the managers are not afraid to "muck in". Two of you can have a really good meal wine for well under £80.00.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ishtar also viewed

 

Been to Ishtar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ishtar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.