We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night out. Pity about the service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bavarian Beerhouse Old Street

Bavarian Beerhouse Old Street
190 City Road, London EC1V 2QH, England
08443302005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7,843 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Price range: $25 - $87
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Bavarian Beerhouse (est. 2004) is the UK’s only German Restaurant & Bar chain, offering an authentic German experience with a variety of freshly tapped ice cold beers served in huge Stein glasses, accompanied by hearty Bavarian food in its two London locations ‘Bavarian Beerhouse Old Street’ and ‘Bavarian Beerhouse Tower Hill’. With its native German speaking waitresses and directly from Germany imported food & beer, it remains the UK’s only original German restaurant chain. Locals, city workers & tourists alike enjoy the atmosphere and table service provided by charming waitresses in traditional Bavarian 'Dirndl' dresses. Additionally, in 2004 Bavarian Beerhouse brought the world's biggest beer festival "Oktoberfest" to London for the first time. Since then it has firmly established itself as the UK's Number One Oktoberfest Specialist, serving thousands of beer-loving customers and even the British Army. In addition to its restaurants, Bavarian Beerhouse Ltd. runs a fully equipped catering service, bringing “Oktoberfest” to business parks, corporate events and private functions all over England, Scotland and Wales.
watford
1 review
“Great night out. Pity about the service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Not the best place for a new years eve party .
You cannot go to the bar but the waitress spent more time smoking then actually serving.
and because i complained about her to who seemed like the manager she then refused to serve me all together.
Other then the bad waitress who is easily forgettable.
id say a great place to visit.....just not on new years eve.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BavarianBeerhouse, Manager at Bavarian Beerhouse Old Street, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear qpr1985,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am very sorry that we could not meet your expectations on our New Year’s Eve celebrations. I apologize for the inconvenience concerning the drinks and I will find out what happened on the night in order to make sure that it will not happen again.
However, I am glad to hear that you still liked the atmosphere of our restaurant and we would be delighted to welcome you again to show you that we can do better.
Thank you very much again for your review and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    41
    20
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
harlow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bavaria in London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I have been to the Bavarian Bier Haus several times over the last few years because we like the atmosphere there. They have an extensive menu of sausage,pork knuckle,goulash & schnitzel etc.with all the trimmings.You can wash it down with some very good beers or try the shot train.
We have always found the staff to be helpful & much fun also their English is very good.
If you want a little touch of Bavaria this the place to go as on certain days there is music also.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BavarianBeerhouse, Manager at Bavarian Beerhouse Old Street, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear colin t,
Thank you very much for your review. I really appreciate that you took the time to tell us about your experience in the Bavarian Beerhouse. I am especially, glad that you had such a great time in our restaurant and I hope to welcome you soon again.
For your information: In April starts our spring festival with live Oompah Music or if you prefer a Fancy-Dress Party join us to our traditional Carnival Party on the 1st of March.
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A different emphasis”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I have visited both this and the Tower Hill Branch a few times since they opened in London.
Originally it was good for both food and the beers. In fact having spent a lot of time in Bavaria I would say the food was the most authentic in London.
Recently I visited and have to report the emphasis is now on drinking not eating.
The target audience is stag parties, lads on the piss, etc.
Nothing wrong with that but it is no longer a good place to eat, a great place to go get boozed up however.
So food yesterday wasn't good, a shadow of its former self.
And it was expensive for what it was,
Pub food quality at restaurant prices.
the groups of lads on the booze were having a good time however.

Do avoid the food, go get pissed is my advice, it's still a great place, just a different emphasis.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BavarianBeerhouse, Manager at Bavarian Beerhouse Old Street, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear dmckenzie65,
Thank you very much for your review. Feedback is always very helpful for us in order to be able to improve our service constantly.
I agree with your statement that in our Old Street venue our customers are more focused on the consumption of traditional German beer which may have been a bit different in the past. However, from them company point of view we are still a traditional Bavarian Restaurant which means Oktoberfest atmosphere including loads of beer, dancing and party atmosphere.
I am anyway glad to hear that you still like our place even if the emphasis may have changed a bit.
We would be happy to welcome you soon again in the Bavarian Beerhouse and maybe you are interested in our popular spring festival which we will celebrate in April in the Tower Hill venue and in May in the Old Street venue.
Thank you very much again for your review and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Went here for a friends birthday on a Saturday night. People are right in saying the tables are sticky etc but it's what you should expect coming here surely? Atmosphere was really good, really lively and service good. We had a table right out in the back room and asked to move, we got moved straight away to the front room where the bar is and had a really good night. Didn't eat so can't comment on the food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BavarianBeerhouse, Manager at Bavarian Beerhouse Old Street, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear joecull1,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Birthday party in the Bavarian Beerhouse. It’s a pity that you didn’t eat. Our Schnitzel is delicious and popular.
Concerning the sticky table it’s not supposed to be dirty and we apologize for it. We are always aiming to improve and will send this comment to our team.

We hope to see you again soon
Keep on rocking
Prost!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stumbled across the Beer house by chance, hidden away as it is under the rail arches.
I was dubious of eating there solo as it seemed "group" friendly, glad I went it, I was made most welcome, and had a great meal ... the spicy sausage platter was wonderful, and a glass of German beer.

The price is very good, atmosphere is great... What's not to like

Recommended

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BavarianBeerhouse, Manager at Bavarian Beerhouse Old Street, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Anon_Tomos,

Thank you very much for your review. Every single person is more than welcome in our Bavarian Beerhouse. Especially during the Oktoberfest time we have a lot of bookings for 1 person because we are well known for a socially venue and a great atmosphere.
Tell it your friends and visit us again soon.
Prost!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavarian Beerhouse Old Street also viewed

 

Been to Bavarian Beerhouse Old Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavarian Beerhouse Old Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.