We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Addendum Restaurant

Addendum Restaurant
Apex City of London Hotel | 1 Seething Lane, London EC3N 4AX, England (City of London)
+44 20 7977 9500
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Addendum Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5,944 of 17,052 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $38
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: City of London
Description: The dining room itself is a simple pleasure. Understated, contemporary decor & subdued lighting will immediately make you feel relaxed. The sense of style and intimacy grows, whether you choose to sink into an opulent leather booth, or, if you are part of a larger party, opt for a more open space. Drawing on our Chef's extensive experience, the menu has been seducing an ever-increasing crowd of gastronomic disciples since its launch at the end of 2005. Offering an array of modern dishes, he puts the accent on the finest seasonal ingredients available. It is easy to see why the restaurant has already received awards since opening. For al fresco dining at lunch ask to be seated at the front of the hotel, overlooking tranquil gardens, the area is light and airy, boasting fully opening, double height, floor-to-ceiling windows. An extensive wine list along with superb service and glamorous surroundings makes the restaurant an ideal venue for every occasion.
Winfield, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food & service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed breakfast and dinner at this restaurant while we were staying at the Apex Hotel. The staff was efficient and kind. The food was quality food. The menu is not extensive but does have good choices to select from.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    15
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Another great meal at the Addendum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great food from the set dinner menu. Hot smoked salmon with cauliflower cream and pistachios to start. Main course of linguine with crab, chili and coriander - beautifully spiced and just the right amount of heat from the chili peppers. A lovely vanilla rice pudding with apricot to round off a really tasty, satisfying meal. Excellent service, friendly and professional, from all of the waiting staff . Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Still great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Menu is great. Just what you'd need. Something for everybody and if you're slightly less hungry you can always order off the Brasserie menu which is a little lighter. Eric the Maitre D' is very helpful and accomodating!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Convenient if you are staying in the hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I was staying in the Apex hotel with my parents and boyfriend. It was a Saturday night and the restaurant was empty as it was still quite early. My dad doesn't like being in loud places as he is deaf in one ear so this seemed like a good place to go as it saved us from going out again. Plus we had been walking all day so it was nice to stay at the hotel.
We all enjoyed our meals. The place fitted the bill for us so if I stayed at the hotel again I would probably go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amateur chef”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I asked twice for the pasta al dente and I got it overcooked. The waiter didnt know what al dente was and looked at me as if I came from another planet. The steak was hard like a shoe and hard to cut even with the steak knife they initially forgot to provide me with. The 4 french fries that came with the steak were very good in taste. Dessert was OK but nothing special. Avoid this place like the pest, the chef obviously learnt to cook at McDonalds.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addendum Restaurant also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Addendum Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Addendum Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.