We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Konnigans

Konnigans
344-346 Old York Road, Wandsworth, London SW18 1SS, England (Clapham / Battersea )
+44 (0)20 8871 1496
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,034 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Price range: $61 - $61
Cuisines: International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Clapham / Battersea 
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We aren't foodies, though we love a nice dining experience. We'd been to this place a year ago as it's quite near where we live. We'd actually had a bad experience then by having to wait about 25 minutes to get served.

Today we decided to go back to give it one more chance thinking "it couldn't get any worse could it?" ... well, er, yes it could.

The service was shocking and the Restaurant manager was an ill mannered rude person who seemed intent on making our experience unpleasant.

DON'T GO THERE - YOU'LL REGRET IT

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    31
    14
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Long menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Large menu and not everything is always good or consistent from one visit to the next. Have had a number of good meals there.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hit or miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've been to Konnigans a few times and had decent meals - it's pretty simple food, good value especially for breakfast or lunch - though for a nice dinner there are probably better options in the area like La Gazette, The Alma or Brady's. However my last visit there has really put me off.

It a wet day but pretty warm day so I sat outside under the shelters with a couple of friends. The waitress acknowledged us, but didn't bring any menus. After five mins or so we decided she might have thought we were just having a rest (!) and went and picked up our own menus, while telling her that we were ready to order drinks. Ten minutes later, still no service so we went inside and promoted the waitress again, who apologised and said she'd be with us shortly. When ten minutes after that she STILL hadn't come to take our drinks orders, let alone food, we cut our losses and went to The Alma instead.

Maybe she didn't want to get her hair wet.... but all the same, it's a shame that shoddy service has let the restaurant down as it's a nice local stop in. This was a couple of months back and it's put me off going again since.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“a reliable all arounder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is my local restaurants for breakfasts, lunches and brunches on leisure days. The food is always delicious and of good quality, you certainly get your money's worth. On weekdays there is a 6 pound lunch menu which has traditional pub grub and some other unique tasty options.

I do have one gripe with this place and it's that on weekends the service is always flustered and everything runs late. But the food more than makes up for this plus the staff are genuinely friendly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“missed the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Went with friends who have been many times before. Sadly, I failed to understand the huge write up they had given Konnigans. Service was good and the atmosphere quite buzzy, but tables v close together, given the size and number of customers probably understandable. Good range of drinks and wines at not silly prices. The food sounded better on the menu that it ate, all the right bits were there, but I felt there was just something lacking. Perhaps as it was a really busy evening the kitchen was stretched, so will give it another go as need to find another good neighbourhood restaurant

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konnigans also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Konnigans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konnigans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.