We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hafez Restaurant

Hafez Restaurant
5 Hereford Road, London W2 4AB, England (Notting Hill)
+44 (0)207 229 9398
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #949 of 17,052 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Notting Hill
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is a small restaurant near Queensway serving traditional Persian cuisine, it is small but the owners have now made the best of the available space. the food is freshly cooked to perfection and I can highly commend the baby chicken kebab!!!

It has been very artistically redecorated using utensils and books in the most unusual way a must see.

Not suitable for disabled customers who cannot navigate a few, but rather steep steps.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farshid54, Owner at Hafez Restaurant, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear saranne1954,

I am happy to hear how much you appreciated our speciality kababs and our decor. Fellow Iranian lighting designer Ali Siavoshi is the talent behind our unusual decor and he is always very pleased to hear how much people love his work.
Regarding your comment about the steps down to the restroom area at the back of the restaurant and disability access- unfortunately it has been difficult to resolve due to the limited space but we will always be open to suggestions. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    62
    20
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great food for value, great choice. Nice place where you feel cosy. A must-go place if you like well grilled meat and middle east flavours. The service was very good too, and in summer you can eat outside (small front door terrasse).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farshid54, Owner at Hafez Restaurant, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear MAlbertoS,

Thank you for your positive review. It's good to hear that you enjoyed your visit and think we offer great value, great food and very good service. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing and mouth watering kababs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had the Hafez Selection of Kababs.
The highlight of the food was the Kababs which had One skewer of tender, succulent ‘best end’ lamb chops, one skewer of tender boneless breast of chicken and two skewers of finely seasoned hand ground shoulder of lamb.
The Kababs simply were mouth watering..............yummy loved it .. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farshid54, Owner at Hafez Restaurant, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Amitabh_B,

Thank you for your recommendation and review.
As Head Chef, I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our charcoal grilled kababs. They are indeed our speciality and have been since we opened 30 years ago this year. We hope to see you again on your next visit to London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

A quirky yet beautifully designed restaurant in notting hill... I ordered the mirza ghassemi for an appetizer and it arrived delicious and warm with home made naan. For my main course, I ordered the fessenjan on their menu (a khoresht dish made with chicken, walnut and pomegranate sauce-- they had vegetarian option for this as well!). The fessenjan was absolutely amazing and was well balanced with its ingredients-- not too strong on any one of its flavors, and the meat was deliciously tender. I definitely recommend this dish while there because, as it is difficult to make, many Iranian restaurants do not serve it and Hafez served up the fessenjan perfectly!
Our waiter was also wonderfully kind and sociable, and the owner walked up to each table to ask his customers whether or not they enjoyed the food. Despite being small and packed, the appetizer and course arrived in perfect time.
I am Iranian and have spent my time visiting other Iranian restaurants while in London, but this has by far been the best. They heed to the atmosphere as well as the food, and that made my experience all the more enjoyable. I will definitely go here again, both for the amazing meal and for its cozy and welcoming atmosphere! I recommend this restaurant for anyone wanting to enjoy a good Iranian meal. To those who have never tried Iranian food before: this is where you need to go!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farshid54, Owner at Hafez Restaurant, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Nedss,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and positive review for us and for your recommendation. It's great to know that as an Iranian you recognise and appreciate the effort we make to serve delicious, authentic food that reflects the best that Persian cuisine has to offer.
I am especially happy that you also valued our service and enjoyed the ambience at Hafez.
I will relay your comments to our staff ,as I do for all our reviews and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a 200 mile round trip!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Visited on Monday evening 25/03/13 with family, 5of us. We didnt book but a table was sorted for us quickly even though it looked full.
Had a mix starter - warm Persian bread with a selection of dips, Baba ghanoush, salad olivieh (which was a favourite), pickles, hoummus and a tzatziki. All delicious!
Ordered a mix kebab platter for all five of us with saffron rice- lamb cutlets, saffron chicken, and the most amazing lamb kofte we have ever had! Very tender!
Had some nice wine aswell!
Thankyou so much for making our trip from Peterborough well worth the journey! Wish they delivered!
Will be returning soon!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farshid54, Owner at Hafez Restaurant, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Jentots 88

Thank you so much for your review -quite an accolade and very much appreciated. As owner and Head Chef I was very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your visit. It does mean a lot to our staff when they hear such comments. We hope to welcome your family back to Hafez in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hafez Restaurant also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Hafez Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hafez Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.