We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, not great service!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cage Imaginaire, La

Cage Imaginaire, La
16 Flask Walk, London NW3 1HE, England
(020)-7794-6674
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cage Imaginaire, La is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,804 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $69
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, not great service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I came here 3 nights ago for a birthday meal with my boyfriend which he had booked as a surprise. It is a cute, romantic restaurant and the staff were friendly.

We both had scallops for starter and they were very nice. For mains I chose fillet of beef and my boyfriend chose rabbit. Unfortunately when my food arrived there was a hair sitting on top of it. I sent it back straight away and they returned with another plate less than 5 mins later, so I'm guessing they didn't cook it again in that short time.. I ate it anyway and the food was delicious despite the hair situation... my boyfriend also loved his rabbit meal!

I was dissappointed when the bill came as they didn't take any money off my main, didn't offer anything on the house and didn't even take off the included service charge!! As it was a birthday dinner, my boyfriend didn't want to make a scene at the time and complain, but to be honest, good customer service should mean they do that without having to be told!

It was a shame about the service but it hasn't put me off going back to the restaurant, I would go again as I really enjoyed the food and it isn't too expensive, just would expect better service in a restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    34
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good ambience, value and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice little french style restaurant in a corner of Hampstead (right at the end of Flask Walk). We went for a sunday lunch recently. The service and atmosphere were very good, staff were very helpful. The menu is slightly experimental and a little hit and miss, more hit than miss to be fair - e.g. the mains were excellent but the apple ravioli a little too sweet. Extra marks for doing menu choices which are different to the run-of-the-mill chain restaurants tho. Good value for lunch, recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Romantic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Fine and romantic. These are the most relevant qualities found here. The food was delicious and the service brilliant. We suggest to try this taste of France in London

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“French Cooking in 'Homely' Setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This restaurant is set in a terraced house and the dining area is in a converted lounge - the kitchen/preparing area still looks very homely - which you either like or dislike.

We were quite a large party - and that doesn't suit this place at all. We had all placed our meal order upfront but the waiter/maitre d' insisted on repeating every person's order and writing in down on what appeared to be a table plan - this took a good 15 minutes which seemed unnecessary as they could have just brought out the food and asked who had ordered the scallops, the prawns etc.

The starters arrived - the scallops were ... nice ... but not roasted enough so they had no colour whatsoever which was a shame. All plates looked very much like homemade food and not restaurant food.

The sea bass dish for main came with roast sweet potatoes and some mange touts but everything was very dry - when we asked if there was a sauce for the sea bass dish (which about 8 of us had ordered) - the answer was 'no the sea bass comes as that' - no servicemindedness here! Maybe the waiter could have asked if we would LIKE a sauce and maybe they could have offered a butter/herb sauce or SOMETHING. It was very dry to eat so a couple of us poured olive oil on ...

The puddings were also ... nice... nothing really stood out and again, all plates looked like you were at your friend's house for dinner.

Honestly, I can't really and wholeheartedly recommend this place as it was just ... average ... and the service wasn't serviceminded at all. If this was because we were a large group - then they shouldn't have accepted such a big group in the first place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Shared the experience of Sunday Lunch with my wife and 2 friends the other week.
Very pleased with the food, the service and the presentation.
Good Value Table D 'hote Sunday Lunch and highly recommended.
Would definitely go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cage Imaginaire, La also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Cage Imaginaire, La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cage Imaginaire, La, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.