We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect every time!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Sacre Coeur

Le Sacre Coeur
18 Theberton St | Angel Islington, London N1 0QX, England (Islington / Clerkenwell)
+44 20 7354 2618
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Sacre Coeur is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #399 of 17,931 Restaurants in London
Price range: $16 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Islington / Clerkenwell
Description: A traditional French bistro snuggled into the heart of Angel in Islington. Cosy, warm and welcoming, this kitsch and quaint bistro is one of the oldest French restaurants in the area and has built up a reputation over the years for its traditional yet indulgent menu. As such a characteristic and memorable place, Le Sacre Ceour is the perfect venue for private parties
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect every time!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I went for lunch here on Friday with 5 friends to celebrate a birthday. There was a set lunch menu with a lots of choices ranging from goat's cheese salad to stuffed garlic mushrooms (delicious) and mains of chicken, salmon, moules and steak. All of us without exception devoured our meals rounded off with a variety of mouth watering puddings. Several bottles of wine were drank and although we stayed for several hours, nobody tried to rush us. The service as always was courteous, friendly and helpful - the waiter even came to find me to tell me my meal was served (I had stepped outside and got talking to other diners). It was a lovely day and one of the few restaurants in London where i return to regularly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    49
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“amazing food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

without exception one of the best meals i have had in many years. superb dining experience with very friendly staff. the selection is varied and of great quality with reasonable price.. i love their coq-au-vin and rabbit casserole. it is definitely one of the best French Restaurant in London.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best French food in Islington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I dined in Le Sacre Coeur at least 10 times. I love this little bistro. Food is great and service is friendly. Moules provancale and creme brûlée are my favourite.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A very happy find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to eat on a Sunday evening and were delighted we stumbled across this great little restaurant. The menus (there is more than one!) are long and a bit confusing but pleased my partner no end by having several vegetarian choices. We both enjoyed our food very much and will certainly pay a return visit when we are again in the area. Service was excellent and although not especially cheap, it was good value for the quality of food we had.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great meal !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Booked 2 days before, all very efficient.
Lovely atmosphere and buzzing considering eating out Tuesday night.
Great food and wine from a wide choice at a reasonable price.Staff spot on, attentive but not hovering around too much to be annoying.
Would I go again. - yes without a doubt

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Sacre Coeur also viewed

 

Been to Le Sacre Coeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Sacre Coeur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.