We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Dover Sole I have tasted” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chamberlain's Restaurant

Chamberlain's Restaurant
23-25 Leadenhall Market, London EC3V 1LR, England (City of London)
+44 (0)20 7648 8690
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chamberlain's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,044 of 16,892 restaurants in London
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, Oyster Bar, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: City of London
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The best Dover Sole I have tasted”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is an excellent restaurant and after a few recent visits it is worth a good review.
The Dover Sole is a wonderful delicacy of the seas produced in simple but brilliant fashion by Chamberlains. This was always a very expensive restaurant but I feel it's competitors have come to it in terms of price but not quality. Quality now counts as top of the list when choosing in this price category so therefore this is getting higher in peoples lists. It is now very busy and the reason it doesnt get a 5 was the long wait which I endured on previous visit. One of our party did not turn up until 1.20pm (20mins) late and we ordered 1.30pm. It was 2.40pm before we got our mains - Dover Sole x 3 , all superb. My starter on this occassion was Lobster Bisque but it was tepid at best.
I truly believe this to be a one off as we were at fault for lateness but we should have been advised of the wait and no excuse for poor starter.
Visit this place for quality and be sure to book

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    8
    23
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Private Dinner Party Big Success”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We held a private dinner at Chamberlains and wanted to comment on how well the night was. As an events coordinator, it's rare not to get some negative comments, but am so pleased with the high level of service from the staff and restaurant manager. Chamberlain's came highly recommended for the food and service, and neither disappointed. The sea bass was the night's highlight, rave reviews for all who had it, as well as the lobster bisque. Thank you for a great night on behalf of our team, and we will be coming back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

A business lunch with two colleagues in the fantastic space that is Leadenhall Market in the heart of the City. A starter of scallops with parsnip purée was delicious but, although it was a large scallop, I might have expected two. Main course was the dish of the day - pan fried turbot with a veal spring roll and wild mushroom sauce. This was excellent. Perfectly cooked and full of flavour. A simple tomato and onion salad worked well as a side dish. Service was top notch.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Chamberlain's is a very good restaurant for all types of fish. Their wine list is very good too. The service is excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice meal, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Nice business lunch, great food, really friendly and professional staff. Fish pie was marvellous. 1st visit for me, colleagues go regularly, definitely be eating here again

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chamberlain's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chamberlain's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chamberlain's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.