We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half the portion for half the price (tastecard)” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Silka Restaurant

Silka Restaurant
6 - 8 Southwark Street, London Bridge, London SE1 1TL, England (London Bridge)
+44 (0)20 7378 6161
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Silka Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9,650 of 16,892 restaurants in London
Price range: $26 - $33
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: London Bridge
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
“Half the portion for half the price (tastecard)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I had been to Silka previously and found it to be a perfectly average local. The food is not greasy, has some level of authenticity and the place in convenient after a few drinks in London Bridge. So I took a friend there after a couple of excellent pints at the Market Porter in Borough Market. I flashed my tastecard and we were shown to a table.

The restaurant is in a basement and needs a spruce up. But we were here for curry and ordered a special starter selection and a couple of mains with sides, rice and bread.

The starter wasn't anything like it was described in the menu. Many of the items listed were missing. They also seemed to have replaced the meat items with vegetable ones. For our mains we felt that there just wasn't enough meat in the dishes.

It really felt like that halved the portions for us because we were using a tastecard. Very disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    3
    12
    5
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice Indian restaurant near London Bridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

As others have said, first impressions of this restaurant aren't overwhelming. It's reached by a single door which leads down a staircase to a basement. I was a bit hesitant before going in, but speaking to some people who were just leaving who raved about the place and the food, we decided to give it a go, and I'm glad we did.

The restaurant obviously doesn't get any natural light due to its location, but despite that it didn't feel too claustrophobic as it's decorated in light colours. And a particularly good sign was that it was absolutely packed with people. In spite of this, after some shuffling of tables the kind staff were able to seat us quickly and get us the traditional beers and poppadoms. Always a relief when they arrive I find! The chutneys were pleasant although each had a slightly unusual taste. Not unpleasant but as if someone had added an extra spice or two to make them taste a little different from the average.

Main courses were good (all the usual options were available) and were served quickly. The service was prompt and the waiters were friendly so no complaints there. Prices were reasonable for the centre of London.

One final thing I must mention are the bathrooms. The main entrance door to them leads into a completely mirror lined room so that you can see yourself from all angles which can be a little disconcerting after a few drinks, but it is a novelty that's for sure!

So overall a good restaurant which is well located with nice food at a reasonable price. I will certainly be returning!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Decent Indian food near Borough Market”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had dinner at Silka on a Saturday evening. The room is well-decorated and clean. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The pappadams and relishes were excellent, as was the paneer. However, many of the other dishes tasted very similar and were not well-spiced or flavourful. The service was efficient and the price was very reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The place is slightly let down by its ambiance, in a basement, but if you can see beyond that (or get takeaway) the food was truly excellent. Very different to any Indian food I've had before - no greasy orange sauces in sight. I chose the Indian Aubergine dish and lentil soup to start (meal deal £7.95), both were very mild, delicately flavoured dishes. The amount of food was not too much; we left there feeling satiated, but not lethargic. Really recommend them!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a good value Indian restuarant which incoudes some south Indian food as well as mughal food. The lunch offer is extremely good value as the food is well spiced and tasty. the restaurant lacks ambience but what do you expect...at this price. Convenient location and quick service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silka Restaurant also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Silka Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silka Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.