We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food and great restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ottolenghi - Islington

Ottolenghi - Islington
287 Upper Street, Islington, London N1 2TZ, England (Islington / Clerkenwell)
+44 (0)20 7288 1454
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ottolenghi - Islington is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #419 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Price range: $74 - $74
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Islington / Clerkenwell
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I loved the atmosphere at this very modern upbeat eatery in a very trendy part of London. As I was eating by myself I was seated at the large communal table that runs down the centre of the restaurant.
As a vegeterian the food selection was interesting and offered many choices and the choice of sweets was also fantastic. Enjoyed it so much I ate there twice during my stay.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    156
    44
    29
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing and overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

After many recommendations, my partner and I decided to try this "legendary" restaurant. We were disappointed overall. The food, although well presented and unique, had far too many flavours in each dish which overpowered the overall theme I think the chef was trying to create. Small portions for the overpriced menu and the seating is crammed to fit as many people into the small restaurant as possible. Nice wine list and desserts though. Won't be returning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Really enjoyed my whole meal. I had the salads combo, plus the bread selection. Then a cupcake for dessert. The wait staff were very friendly and attentive and chatty which was nice as I was on my own. I love my Ottellingi cookbooks so was very excited for this visit and it did not disappoint. I took a bag of meringues home to my friend who I was staying with in London and I have to they were AMAZING!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food small portions.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The food and flavour combinations are excellent.

We were told that 4-6 dishes would be enough for us do we ordered 5. Neither of us are big eaters but both were hungry after and had to order two more dishes and desert to be full.

The service was a little aloof for my tastes but generally quite attentive and friendly.

Overall it was a good experience for a special treat and is excellent for pescatarian and vegetarians.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Staff were very friendly, food was excellent, and they helped to make a birthday really special!

The only problem was that we ate far too much food - because it tasted so good.

The bill was a little larger than I would usually pay, but as a special occasion, it was fine.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ottolenghi - Islington also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Ottolenghi - Islington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ottolenghi - Islington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.