We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant pre-performance place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amphitheatre Restaurant

Amphitheatre Restaurant
Royal Opera House, Covent Garden | 45 Floral Street, London WC2E 9DD, England (Covent Garden)
+44 (0)20 7212 9254
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Amphitheatre Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,915 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Price range: $30 - $43
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A pleasant pre-performance place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

As the restaurant is part of the Royal Opera House at least you can be certain of getting your food pre-performance epecially if you have pre-booked your menu. Service is excellent and the food was pleasant and well presented if a little sparse on the vegetable front. It is possible to split your meal across the intervals although if your seat is not conveniently located you do have to rush around a bit. It is not a cheap option especially if you add drinks and wine, but it does round off the evening well. The ambience is buzzy and the building is wonderful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    26
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good for vegetarians too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We ate lunch here before a concert and backstage tour and were impressed with the classy location and appointments and the excellent service. At £22.50 for 2 courses, the price seemed reasonable for the quality. The set menu offers a choice of 3 starters, 3 mains and 3 desserts. The vegetarian dishes were notably more imaginative than is so often the case. Jerusalem artichoke soup was pronounced delicious as was the leek and Barkham Blue tart. I enjoyed a generous helping of 3 pieces of very tasty pheasant. Sadly, we had no time for dessert. I wouldn't hesitate to eat here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Overpriced, poor quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I visited the Ampitheatre Restaurant recently for the pre Swan Lake Dinner. I was really disappointed with the food. I ordered the veal and winter vegetables - the veal consisted mainly of fat, and the vegetables consisted of mash and 3 baby carrots. The Swan Lake Meringue Dessert was a complete different appearance from what had been publicly advertised, which was very disappointing.

The restaurant does have a nice atmosphere and the staff are friendly. However I did get the impression that we were less important than the larger parties that were there.

Next time I go to ROH I'll look at booking one of the other restaurants instead.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely space with great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Usually quiet at lunchtime though busy pre- and post-theatre. A lovely space at the top of the Royal Opera House and has a wide terrace for warmer months with great views across Covent Garden Piazza. I went for lunch on a special two course set menu. For the starter I had roasted pumpkin with feta - quite good but needed something to make it a little more complex. My sister had a terinne which was good and well presented. For the main course we both had a mushroom tart which was creamy, with a good flavour of mushroom and served with a salad of chicory and watercress. There is a good selection of wines and we chose a Sauvignon Blanc from the organic list which was fruity with a finish of vanilla and coffee. Service was friendly and prompt.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The staff are lovely in this restaurant and very good with allergies. The food is a bit fussy and very minimal so one is advised to eat all the bread offered. The prices are steep but that would be expected where the clientele is largely captive (or fit enough to sprint to external restaurants and be back in time for Act 2!).

A tip is to identify your table before you intend to start eating (if during the intermission) as otherwise you will lose a lot of time queueing and less time for eating in the short time available. However as the portions are so small, perhaps the problem is less acute!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amphitheatre Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Amphitheatre Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amphitheatre Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.