We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come here for fantastic breakfasts if staying at Ritz or nearby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wolseley

The Wolseley
160 Piccadilly, London W1J 9EB, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )
+44 20 7499 6996
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wolseley is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #607 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Price range: $32 - $102
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Description: The Wolseley offers several menus in the Grand Café tradition including breakfast, morning pastries, afternoon tea, and an all day menu with sandwiches, salads, crustacea and plats du jour. We are open seven days a week.
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
559 helpful votes 559 helpful votes
“Come here for fantastic breakfasts if staying at Ritz or nearby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at The Ritz Hotel next door to The Wolseley and had intended to have breakfast there after our over-night stay. The Ritz corridors smelled a little odd, our accomodation was way below par and a few hours after arriving, we sat down for afternoon Tea at the Ritz....which was a dreadful experience and bland. There was no way we were going to risk breakfast the following morning or risk being the recipients of staff “attitude” in this stuffy, once great hotel. Where to therefore go for breakfast? The answer......we simply crossed the road to THE WOLSELEY which is right next door to The Ritz where we enjoyed what may well be the very best breakfast in London.

Some years ago I met the former executive chef from The Wynn hotel, Las Vegas who conceptualised all of the Wynn restaurants and who is a real “foodie” and he invited me to join him in London where he was visiting for a truffle auction. At that time he told me that although he was staying at the superb Lanesbrough Hotel, he breakfasted every day at The Wolseley as it was the best breakfast in London....I remembered this recommendation and so we tried it......and it was wonderful.

We love the Wolseley breakfast. The breakfast menu is superb and it was delicious, served well, the room is airy, the atmosphere was perfect...what a great way to start the day. We felt we had escaped from the stuffiness of our hotel next door where even The Ritz restaurant had a certain old-hotel-restaurant smell about it.

The Wolseley service is superb and efficient and you can be in-and-out quickly or you can take your time and people watch (this restaurant is a celebrity favourite). I really cannot recommend it more.......a perfect breakfast in a wonderful location. Why put up with hotel catering when you can come here? Just one tip....it’s popular so best pre-book.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWolseley, General Manager at The Wolseley, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
So kind of you to write such a delightful review of our breakfast - we really appreciate it.

Paul Robinson Webster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,303
    816
    314
    111
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Hi Tea wonderful environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a very good high tea at the Wolseley in June 2013. We went in during a unexpected rain storm, without reservations near the end of lunch for them. However the Maitre d made us feel comfortable, found a place in the very busy bar for the 30 minute wait. He came and retrived us and brought us to a very nice table for tea. The food was delicious, including a wide range of sandwhiches and sweets and tea. he environment as very pleasant, remaining into the early evening till the rain stopped. A great spot anytime, with an interesting history; once a prewar luxury car dealership, now done over in marble and brass. A bit of a splurge but well worth the experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“what's all the noise about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Typical *In place* in London with typical menue ; great location, noisy, busy and uncomfortable, guests sometimes with taste, food quality occasionally good. The only consistency are the high prices. The service erratically good or poor, just luck. All in all, a great place to spend time and money, unfortunately one has to order food as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Awesome dinning experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This place is great...Good for breakfast lunch or dinner. Awesome steaks and oysters, good service and not expensive

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“They Deserve the Order of the British Empire!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our friends Amanda and Chris had their wedding breakfast at the Wolseley and often return. When my partner got the OBE and needed to go to Buckingham Palace (HRH the Prince oif Wales presiding) with me and our two children I thought we'd give it a try as it's just a short walk across the park. Luckily, I knew the date of the inesvtiture six weeks in advance and phoned to make a booking rather than go online. I emphasised that it was a very special occasion - yes I did mention the OBE - and could they give us a nice table.They delivered on that promise as we had a balcony table overlooking the main restaurant and all the celebs, On arrival flushed with the heat we were really welcomed, had great food, and alhough Pizza Express would have been cheaper it was great value for money. We then went to Birmingham for a concert but that's another story and the children dispersed back to the West County (our daughter) and Dubai (our son). Later that night the plumbing in our house burst a leak but I can't blame the Wolesley.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wolseley also viewed

 

Been to The Wolseley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wolseley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.