We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea in London!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wolseley

The Wolseley
160 Piccadilly, London W1J 9EB, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )
+44 (0)20 7499 6996
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wolseley is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #573 of 17,314 Restaurants in London
Price range: $32 - $102
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Description: The Wolseley offers several menus in the Grand Café tradition including breakfast, morning pastries, afternoon tea, and an all day menu with sandwiches, salads, crustacea and plats du jour. We are open seven days a week.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea in London!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We enjoyed afternoon tea for the complete London experience, and this was a great place to do it! Staff was quite pretentious, but I guess that's part of it. Our waiter was very nice, but we waited for quite some time before he came over, and then only did because we asked. Afternoon tea is 22.50 pounds. My girls (9 and 10 years old) enjoyed it. Oldest one particularly enjoyed her hot chocolate! A great "memory making" event!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,215
    761
    292
    102
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Quality British Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We met our friends from Canada at The Wolseley last Sunday for lunch. Very buzzy place, and well cooked food. I had roast beef and Yorkshire pudding and the beef was beautifully cooked. The roast potatoes were delicious. The rest of the table had fish and everyone was pleased with their food. This restaurant is all about cooking fresh food well. It is in a lovely setting and it is a shame the visitors turn up in shorts, trainers, rucksacks and unwashed hair. It deserves better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A special treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

If you want a special treat while visiting in London you should visit the Wolsey.The surroundings are interesting, the atmosphere is good and so is the food. It can be as expensive or as reasonable as you want (you can just have a sandwich) if you wish.
The service was quick and efficient without being hurried and the fact that a few celebrities were there too made for a very enjoyable lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Posh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Next to the Ritz, this venue has to be good. And it was a good fun experience amongst the plush, slightly exotic decor. The waiters and waitresses looked slightly uncomfortable in their English black and white formal wear, but then this place is Posh so why not. Food was good as one would expect. Coffee could have been better. The lattes too weak, but thats just me. Good atmosphere, very bustly and noisy. make sure you make a booking. It is worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“So glad they converted this old car showroom into such a beautiful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The restaurant interior with Venetian and Florentine influences and Eastern exotic touches ensure you dine in a grand, atmospheric surroundings with its towering pillars, arches and stairways which were originally a car showroom. Yes the place is a bit noisy (but then it is always full of diners) and tables are a little cramped but the service is very attentive and the food was delicious. I had kedgeree and it was undoubtedly the best I've ever tasted. It was my birthday and they brought out a little tarte a citron with a candle for me to blow out.... I had a wonderful time and would definitely recommend this place

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wolseley also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Wolseley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wolseley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.