We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea in London!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wolseley

The Wolseley
160 Piccadilly, London W1J 9EB, England (St. James's)
+44 20 7499 6996
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wolseley is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #343 of 19,601 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $102
Cuisines: European, British, Soups, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: St. James's
Description: The Wolseley offers several menus in the Grand Café tradition including breakfast, morning pastries, afternoon tea, and an all day menu with sandwiches, salads, crustacea and plats du jour. We are open seven days a week.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea in London!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We enjoyed afternoon tea for the complete London experience, and this was a great place to do it! Staff was quite pretentious, but I guess that's part of it. Our waiter was very nice, but we waited for quite some time before he came over, and then only did because we asked. Afternoon tea is 22.50 pounds. My girls (9 and 10 years old) enjoyed it. Oldest one particularly enjoyed her hot chocolate! A great "memory making" event!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Randel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Quality British Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We met our friends from Canada at The Wolseley last Sunday for lunch. Very buzzy place, and well cooked food. I had roast beef and Yorkshire pudding and the beef was beautifully cooked. The roast potatoes were delicious. The rest of the table had fish and everyone was pleased with their food. This restaurant is all about cooking fresh food well. It is in a lovely setting and it is a shame the visitors turn up in shorts, trainers, rucksacks and unwashed hair. It deserves better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Silverhighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A special treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

If you want a special treat while visiting in London you should visit the Wolsey.The surroundings are interesting, the atmosphere is good and so is the food. It can be as expensive or as reasonable as you want (you can just have a sandwich) if you wish.
The service was quick and efficient without being hurried and the fact that a few celebrities were there too made for a very enjoyable lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beverley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Posh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Next to the Ritz, this venue has to be good. And it was a good fun experience amongst the plush, slightly exotic decor. The waiters and waitresses looked slightly uncomfortable in their English black and white formal wear, but then this place is Posh so why not. Food was good as one would expect. Coffee could have been better. The lattes too weak, but thats just me. Good atmosphere, very bustly and noisy. make sure you make a booking. It is worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alastair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So glad they converted this old car showroom into such a beautiful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The restaurant interior with Venetian and Florentine influences and Eastern exotic touches ensure you dine in a grand, atmospheric surroundings with its towering pillars, arches and stairways which were originally a car showroom. Yes the place is a bit noisy (but then it is always full of diners) and tables are a little cramped but the service is very attentive and the food was delicious. I had kedgeree and it was undoubtedly the best I've ever tasted. It was my birthday and they brought out a little tarte a citron with a candle for me to blow out.... I had a wonderful time and would definitely recommend this place

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeLopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wolseley also viewed

 

Been to The Wolseley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing