We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice staff, food a bit disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Wolseley

The Wolseley
160 Piccadilly, London W1J 9EB, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )
+44 (0)20 7499 6996
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wolseley is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #521 of 16,890 restaurants in London
Price range: $32 - $102
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Description: The Wolseley offers several menus in the Grand Café tradition including breakfast, morning pastries, afternoon tea, and an all day menu with sandwiches, salads, crustacea and plats du jour. We are open seven days a week.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice staff, food a bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

All of the staff were very pleasant, polite, smiling and attentive. The food was a bit of a let down - ordered a tomato salad and the tomatoes were still a little chilled meaning it was difficult to appreciate the full flavour, and roast chicken which was just a little bit dry - not very moist. Had a beautiful cup of tea afterwards though. My colleague enjoyed her dish of lamb, so it might be that you have to be careful what you order.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    1,059
    667
    257
    92
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Correggio, Italy
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Exquisite afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Since my bro went to The Wolseley he did not talk 'bout anything but his afternoon experience there, so during my last trip to London I decided to go, with friends. They are always pretty booked, so an email is worthy to find out whether they have room or not. In any case, the are very helpful and nice and will the everything to fulfil your request.
The place itself is wonderful, charming,with a pleasant retro-atmosphere, yet not stale, nor old-fashioned. Let's say Agatha Christie would perfectly fit in there. :)
Being quite hungry, we went for a complete afternoon tea. Waiter arrived with a hole bunch of finger food snacks, little cakes, scones (my gosh!), jams and, of course, tea.
Delicious. Everything adorned with fine cutlery, beautiful teapots.
I do recommend going, it's such a nice treat that you do not have to miss it.
Enjoy!
Ps. In you are in need of, use toilets!!! The are amazing! ;)

  • Visited October 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable but a little noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We had difficulty booking this restaurant and we had to accept a 10pm booking. There was no room to sit in the small bar area. It was late, busy and noisy when we arrived.

Service was reasonable and the food was excellent. The seafood platter was very large and included crab , oysters etc.

Wiener Schnitzel was considered to be the best meal of the evening at our table.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Venue but Appalling Value for Money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We booked this restaurant for our 2nd year wedding anniversary and whilst the building itself is spectacular and the quality of the food was good we both agreed it offered extremely poor value for money.

Our main disappointment was the size of my wife's main course. She ordered a main course size portion of scallops for £23.50 and when it arrived there were 4 measly scallops on the plate with some sun-dried tomatoes and pesto. We asked the waiter if they'd perhaps given us a starter sized portion by mistake but he insisted it was correct and fed us some line about them being measured by their weight and refused to do anything about it. My poor wife therefore finished her meal in about 4 mouthfuls and had to watch me spend half an hour eating my steak.

The service we received was also pretty poor as you don't have one waiter for your whole meal but about four different ones. None of the waiters know what stage you are at in your meal so keep asking you whether you have ordered/finished etc. which is pretty shoddy for this type of establishment.

Overall the quality of the food was good but very poor value in anyone's books and the service could have been much improved. We didn't pay out 'discretionary service charge' and won't be returning.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Animated, buzzy, trendy but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We chose The Wolseley for lunch with American friends who were staying on Piccadilly and though we couldn't get a reservation we were told to turn up at about 12.15 and they would try to fit us in. After 15 minutes at the bar our table was ready.
This place has a great atmosphere because of the vast spaciousness that amplifies the hundreds of conversations that are taking place, the solicitous service, people arriving, people leaving, waiters running all over the place, the majestic columns with black and gold accenting, and the feeling that this is where it is all happening. Through half closed eyes you might imagine that you were in Paris at Le Grand Cafe on Boulevard des Capucines.
Our food was quite good but not really worthy of the high prices. I had an artichoke starter, well cooked, nicely trimmed and with a good tarragon sauce; but £9.50 ? My main was lambs liver cooked exactly as I wanted but £18.50 with just mashed potatoes and an admittedly lovely sauce. The whole bill for 4 ( 4 drinks at the bar, 2 starters, 4 mains, 2 sweets, 3 coffees, 1 bottle of water, 1 Pinot Noir at £39.00) was £220 including 12.5% added gratuity. I don't regard this as good value. On the other hand you have to remember that you are on Piccadilly next to the Ritz and at any minute a minor celebrity may walk in - or not.
In summary; go for the buzzy atmosphere and a decent meal but try to ignore the cost. Good fun if you are in the mood and in the money.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wolseley also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Wolseley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wolseley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.