We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“returning..lovely food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scalini

Scalini
1-3 Walton St., London SW3 2JD, England (Chelsea)
(020)-7225-2301
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,264 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chelsea
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“returning..lovely food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great vibe..great food...service..but don't understand a cover charge for each person...in addition to the added 12.5% automatic gratuity...we will be back as the food is great...but never like the arrogance of an "add"!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    73
    17
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good if they like you...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

It is a buzzing, loud restaurant with bad accoustics and bad decor. The sound is always loud but amazingly you can never isolate someone else's conversation.
Sadly, I have seen the following: the staff can be very dismissive if they dont know you or you arent famous. (it's cheesy with famous people's photos on the wall)
Luckily for me I know them well (10 years I have been going). If they like you, you will get the most superb service and food and make you feel very special. My favourite dishes are the veal chop, the pasta perestroika and the amazing carpaccio. I have never had a better Lobster spaghetti!
It is expensive.
Avoid if you dont like noise or loud, rich people. Both are here in abundance.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good Italian spot in London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

It is a very expensive Italian restaurant... but hey, you're in London so prepared to spend a bit more than usual ;) Service is very attentive and nice. Food is of good quality, not very much authentic Italian but ok. Pasta dishes are recommended. Also tried the bistecca which I can also recommend. Not recommended for a romantic dinner - it's too loud.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food and attentive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Went to the restaurant on Saturday lunchtime to celebrate my niece's 18th birthday. The food was lovely and the waiters were all very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was very busy and there was a good 'buzzy' atmosphere and pleased we booked a table in advance as there was no free tables. Would highly recommend this restaurant which, although expensive, worth the money especially for a special occasion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Very good, but could be better...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

An Italian restaurant in a good location but set in a residential semi detached house which makes the restaurant feel cramped on 3 different floors.
We had no reservation and we had to wait for 20 minutes even though we were promised only 10.
The ambiance would be truly Italian and pleasant if it were not marred by an overwhelming crowd of Arab guests, which did not seem to be just an exception on that particular night as they were scattered over a number of different and unrelated tables. I felt as if I was in Dubai rather than in London (or Italy). Whilst that is a perfectly fine occurrence in any other venue, when I visit an Italian restaurant I want to feel in an Italian environment & ambient!
The food was really very good and typically prepared.
Excellent raw meet carpaccio, just as it should be, very good gnocchi alla sorrentina, good ravioli (but a bit overcooked & too soft) and an unimpressive selection of (only 2) cheeses...
Service was very good too.
It was a little overpriced for the whole dining experience but the food was really good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scalini also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Scalini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scalini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.