We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mekong - CLOSED

Mekong
46 Churton Street, Westminster, London SW1V 2LP, England (Victoria)
+44 (0)20 7630 9568
Improve this listing
Price range: $45 - $45
Cuisines: Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Victoria
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first time having Vietnamese cuisine so I can't compare it to others but we did enjoy our lunch. The server was friendly, accommodating and attentive.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    24
    13
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not nearly as good as it was”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I have been going for many years but recently have been made very unwelcome. Staff not helpful gave the impression of trying to hurry me through the meal. I have gone with a group of people and even then the feeling that we should eat quickly and go. The quality of food has deteriorated from really good to poor and I suspect a lot of frozen food being microwaved!

Will give this restaurant up!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“This was great friendly neighbourhood Asian, but something has happened - amusing but appalling service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Mekong has long been a favourite of both SW1 residents and visitors to London looking for cheap but authentic Asian food.

Part of its charm has always been the urbane owner and the friendly waiting staff.

On my most recent trip this had changed considerably for the worse with an Asian lady of a certain age ruling the roost in a somewhat dictatorial fashion.

Our orders were mangled with the wrong dishes appearing and plates were slammed down on the table.

When I ordered a beer she proclaimed "last one no more!" even though we were nowhere near 10pm.

The food to the extent we got the right dishes was as it ever was, but as a Mekong regular for the last eight years I was sorely disappointed and will not be returning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This restuarant is small, with a good atmosphere and friendly helpful staff.The food portions are great and the quality of food is very good with excellant flavours. This is top oriental cuisine and vietnamese food at fantastic value.This is a place to visit for value for money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Mekong is one of my favorite restaurants in London. The food is delicious with loads of flavor with the staff are very helpful and friendly. eating down stairs is definitely the place to sit with loads of extra character. the part of this restaurant that wins me over is there extensive wine menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mekong also viewed

 
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mekong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.