We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently high standards” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abingdon

Abingdon
54 Abingdon Road, London W8 6AP, England (South Kensington)
+44 (0)20 7937 3339
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #469 of 17,039 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $82 - $82
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: South Kensington
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Consistently high standards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have been coming to The Abingdon regularly over the last twenty years and did so again last night. The welcome is warm from the staff, although we are well known there. The menu is interesting and you feel you'd like to try a number of the dishes. The standard of cuisine is consistently high - over the years we struggle to remember an indifferent meal. The atmosphere is cosy and relaxed but with the bar next door. Its very hard to find fault. Kensington is a competitive market and it has a number of other restaurants we like a lot but this remains high on our list for repeat visits.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    49
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kensington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great local pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Cosy atmosphere, delightfully friendly staff, dog friendly in
the bar area (big plus) and delicious food. A good Sunday
Lunchtime spot

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Go, just go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Turned up about a half hour early for a 7.30pm reservation and received the warmest of welcomes from Terry and his team. Without exception every member of staff we had contact with was warm, friendly and professionally engaging. Food was great (3 courses) and with a bottle of wine the bill was £60 a head. It felt like really good value. The place was buzzing with every table taken but there was no sense of the staff being overwhelmed- busy yes but not harassed, I would recommend unconditionally this Kensington gem.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good food selection, attractive decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

About 2 hours after checking into our hotel - the Kensington Close, we asked the concierge to recommend a good, quiet local restaurant for a late lunch. His recommendation was perfect. We walked a few blocks and were immediately welcomed by a friendly young lady at the bar. We were quickly seated in a booth and ordered immediately as lunch ended in about 15 minutes. The meal started with a delicious beetroot soup.

We enjoyed a leisurely lunch and had planned to return for dinner one night during our 2-week visit to London; however, twice I had the concierge call for a last-minute seating. He was told they were booked for the time I requested. Our loss for not wanting to commit for a reservation, but I would recommend the restaurant and will hope to eat there again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS PLACE!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Friendly wine bar, lovely atmosphere and a fantastic selection of wines - wish we had more time to spend in here!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abingdon also viewed

 

Been to Abingdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abingdon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.