We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galvin at Windows Restaurant

Galvin at Windows Restaurant
London Hilton on Park Lane | 22 Park Lane, 28th Floor, London W1K 1BE, England
+44 (0)20 7208 4021
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #333 of 17,998 Restaurants in London
Price range: $39 - $148
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Awarded a Michelin star and 3 AA Rosettes for its impeccable cuisine and ambience, the spectacular 28th floor panorama over the London skyline may have made Galvin at Windows a destination restaurant, but the inspired menu of modern French haute cuisine makes it impossible to overlook. The most talked about restaurant in London, Galvin at Windows has a glamourous interior blending the golden age of the 1930s with a modern theme. Together with Head Chef Andre Garrett, acclaimed Chef-Patron Chris Galvin has prepared a straightforward range of classic dishes that are ideally suited to the elevated Mayfair surroundings. The neighbouring bar boasts an impressive collection of whisky and cognac alongside classic and contemporary cocktails served on the rare Italian Saint Laurent marble bar top, which adds to the seductive atmosphere of the room. Whether you need to impress an important client or want to enjoy an intimate dinner for two, Galvin at Windows will offer you an exceptional dining experience.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Special day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hi Andrea,
I must let you know how delighted my family and I were with the wonderful welcome we had yesterday afternoon.
Thank you so much for arranging the 'best' window table with that fabulous view! The food was delicious and the service from your staff was warm, welcoming and most professional. I loved my unexpected little treat at the end!
Thank you for your attention, it was a very fitting celebration following a very memorable occasion at the Palace.
Kindest regards,
Rosemary

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    764
    332
    132
    46
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
“Great food and amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Most people will come for the views but the food is also very good and the real treat is the tasting menu as the wine selection is great for the food and the tastes really come out.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food, best view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Was a dinner guest recently at Galvin. Setting was for 6. Staff was cordial, knowledgable of all the menus items. Wine selection was sufficient. The menu offered a variety of meat and fish dishes. i had a duck pate as an appetizer, a lobster bisque, and a fish main course. All three was delicious. I have been to London a lot in the last couple years and was unaware of this Resturant sitting atop the Park Lane Hilton. I recommend getting there a half hour before your reservation and having a drink at Windows Bar which is adjacent to Galvin. The views are amazing.

A very nice perk is there are a view complimentary post cards on the table when you are seated. All you do is complete the post card and they will pay postage and mail for you. Mine was delivered to the US within a week! A very nice touch.

I will return...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Fab cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Fab atmosphere on Fri evening... pricey but gorgeous with incredible views in all directions as it's on the top floor. Do reserve as all of the best window seats had gone by 6pm.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Happy Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We recently had lunch in this iconic restaurant which benefits from superb views over Hyde Park and Buckingham Palace. Initial impressions upon arrival were great. All the staff were very friendly and highly efficient without being in any way intrusive. They not only knew about the food they were serving but pointed out landmarks too.

Once we were seated a glass of champagne was brought - what a start! We opted for the Menu du Jour and both chose to begin with Raviolo of Haddock (an open Raviolo with undyed smoked Haddock and a slow cooked egg with a runny yolk [how do they do that?] and Brioche crumbs). This was really good.

To follow we had Confit of Lamb with Polenta puree, chard and caper sauce. At this point we asked for a side of cauliflower gratin which was brought almost immediately. Given that we sprung that on them I thought this was great service. The lamb was beautifully presented and tasted devine. The Sommelier, a really fun Italian lady from Tuscany, suggested a 2010 Little Yerring Yarra Valley Pinot Noir which, though light, went very well indeed.

For dessert we both chose Baked Egg Custard with Rhubarb and a liquorice root ice cream. This was served with a lovely dessert wine, again suggested by the Sommelier.

All in all a lovely experiece and we have determined to return with some friends later in the year. Wholeheartedly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galvin at Windows Restaurant also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Galvin at Windows Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galvin at Windows Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.