We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whits

Whits
21 Abingdon Road, London W8 6AH, England (South Kensington)
+44 20 7938 1122
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 18,348 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $83
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: South Kensington
Description: Whits is a mainstay of the Kensington dining scene, attracting locals with its relaxed ambience and imaginative array of modern European classics. The pleasant restaurant interior, with its bright skylight and elegant ironwork, adds to the welcoming vibe, while dishes use ingredients often obtained directly from France to enhance the regularly changing menu.
Houma, Louisiana
1 review
“Great Place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great atmosphere, food and staff. Was in London on business and had the opportunity to "take the night off" and have dinner with relatives that live there. The owners of Whit's were very gracious hosts and stayed late for us to have an extended visit. A++++

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    111
    22
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummy with fab desserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Based on previous reviews we chose this restaurant. It did not disappoint but wasn't quite as wonderful as other reviews would read. The food is very good with excellent desserts. The service was attentive without being intrusive. We visited on a Saturday evening and it was full so I would advise a reservation. My only niggle would be that the tables which use the long bench on the first level are seated slightly too close together. We unfortunately had to listen to some idiot asking Siri a list of endless questions (he stopped when requested). Even then his table of three's conversation totally dominated our table of two and did put a dampner on it for us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb athmosphere and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Based on other recommendations we booked table at this restaurant and had a splendid evening. Very good food and wine, and a very friendly staff. Next time in London I will for sure eat at this restaurant

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Worth all the accolades”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Wow. Booked this restaurant purely on reviews found on TA and I have to say my wife and I were not disappointed in the slightest. Unlike more well known branded restaurants, this has quite a homely feel and you are made to feel extremely welcome and the service is second to none. The food is also absolutely delicious and at an extremely reasonable cost.
The portions aren't miniscule either and I would not hesitate to return here or to recommend it to friends and family. Thoroughly deserving of its reputation on TA and a tribute to all the hard work they have gone through to get them to where they are. Carry on the good work as we will be back!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our Best Dining Experience in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at Whits and it was wonderful. The table was tucked away in a corner of a room that is very relaxing and classy. The owner, Eva, could not have been more charming and made us feel very welcome from start to finish. The food was excellent from the complimentary champagne for our anniversary, to the very reasonably-priced and superb wine tasting, through our appetizers and entrees, and of course, dessert. Staff service was top notch. Do NOT miss dining at this restaurant when you are in London!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whits also viewed

 

Been to Whits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.