We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO GOOD WE CAME BACK A YEAR LATER!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whits

Whits
21 Abingdon Road, London W8 6AH, England (South Kensington)
+44 20 7938 1122
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 18,269 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $83
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: South Kensington
Description: Whits is a mainstay of the Kensington dining scene, attracting locals with its relaxed ambience and imaginative array of modern European classics. The pleasant restaurant interior, with its bright skylight and elegant ironwork, adds to the welcoming vibe, while dishes use ingredients often obtained directly from France to enhance the regularly changing menu.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“SO GOOD WE CAME BACK A YEAR LATER!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We found Whits last year by a fluke and we had an awesome gourmet dinner. The owner Eva remembered us from last year when we returned this year. She is a complete doll and really makes the evening special. Her husband is the chef and wow is he talented. The ingredients are fresh and many items are flown in weekly. I had the most amazing foie gras (and it was a huge portion) and my husband had a delicious "Bavarois of Marenne Oysters" (picture attached). The restaurant is located in a quaint Kensington neighborhood and while quite delicious, was very reasonably priced. If you are in London and you love gourmet food and great service, you can't go wrong here! Thanks, Eva!! If we ever come during Christmas time, maybe we will see "Santa" again! ;)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    113
    22
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, New Jersey
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We visited Whits on our first evening in London. It was a wonderful first dinner in London. Eva greeted us warmly and gave us complimentary sparkling wine to celebrate our special occasions. The food was very good especially the swordfish which was very spicy but excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner there and would return if we return to London!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delicious food and Charming service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We took some French friends here for a celebration meal and they were certainly impressed. The grilled sardines and risotto beetroot was an interesting and tasty combination. The ribeye steak with an excellent béarnaise sauce also deserves a special mention. The assiette of lemon desserts were really delicious especially the soufflé which i believe is made without using flour. Altogether a super meal and a most enjoyable evening. Eva and her talented team create a warm and welcoming ambience and we can't wait to return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Highlight of the Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were lucky enough to find Whits when abroad on a two week holiday. It was the best culinary treat of the entire trip, and we ate out 2-3 times daily. The service was attentive and the waitstaff witty, but the food was DIVINE! I'm still dreaming about the meal I experienced and will definitely return to London so I I can have another meal there. The only disappointment was that we didn't find the restaurant sooner as we found it on our last night. What's more it was reasonably priced. I've eaten out at a lot of restaurants in New York, Los Angeles and San Francisco, many had James Beard winning chefs and Whits surpassed them all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The service was excellent and the food delicious. Everyone's meal was excellent, from entree's to dessert.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whits also viewed

 

Been to Whits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.