We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zafferano lives up to its excellence in food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zafferano

Zafferano
15 Lowndes Street, London SW1X 9EY, England
+44 20 7235 5800
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zafferano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,368 of 16,877 restaurants in London
Price range: $45 - $103
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Zafferano has become one of the most consistently lauded Italian restaurants in London since bursting onto the Belgravia dining scene in 1995. Serving a menu of authentic, wholesome Italian recipes, there is also an elegant bar serving flavoursome cocktails and a separate menu of regional Italian favourites. The restaurant boasts classic, chic decor, and a consistently warm Mediterranean ambience which draws diners back time and time again.
london, uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Zafferano lives up to its excellence in food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went to Zafferano after an unbelievable arrogant and dismissive reception at Amaya. Zafferano staff were warm, attentive without being over bearing. The dishes we ordered were just perfect. it was hard to decide which was more scrumptious, the scallops or the octopus & squid salad? Linguini was perfect and pannacotta fig dessert was just heavenly.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    145
    92
    43
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I went to Zafferano a couple of times recently once with my mother and once with my boyfriend and his parents and thoroughly enjoyed it on both occasions
The food was exceptional and the service very friendly and attentive as usual.
The last time I ate linguine lobster, my favorite and a veal cutlet with wild mushrooms which was truly outstanding.
It remains my favorite Italian in London and even my mum who lives in Italy comes to London wanting to go to Zafferano every time for outstanding Italian.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best italian restaurant in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have been living in London for three years and this is definetely the best italian restaurant in town.
The food was excellent, the pastas were delicious and the meat was perfectly cooked and the garnishes as well. Desserts remarkable!!

Very good prices and the service was very good.
Strongly suggested! Congratulations to the chef!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Book now, treat yourself, enjoy this fabulous restaurant whatever the excuse, none is needed.
The food was absolutely brilliant, the service fabulous and yes it works out to £180 for 3 courses and wine, however, it is worth it.
Order the pear and almond tart with chocolate sauce, it is one of the best dishes I have ever eaten.
Thank you for a wonderful evening.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food still quite good, service not good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

The food was still good, but the service was BAD. Twice the wrong dish was served to the wrong person, different staff kept interrupting us to ask us if we were enjoying our meal, often within minutes of each other and there was no intelligence in the service just rote.it detracted from pleasure quite significantly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zafferano also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Zafferano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zafferano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.