We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best italian restaurant in London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zafferano

Zafferano
15 Lowndes Street, London SW1X 9EY, England
+44 20 7235 5800
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zafferano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,683 of 17,944 Restaurants in London
Price range: $41 - $94
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Zafferano has become one of the most consistently lauded Italian restaurants in London since bursting onto the Belgravia dining scene in 1995. Serving a menu of authentic, wholesome Italian recipes, there is also an elegant bar serving flavoursome cocktails and a separate menu of regional Italian favourites. The restaurant boasts classic, chic decor, and a consistently warm Mediterranean ambience which draws diners back time and time again.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best italian restaurant in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have been living in London for three years and this is definetely the best italian restaurant in town.
The food was excellent, the pastas were delicious and the meat was perfectly cooked and the garnishes as well. Desserts remarkable!!

Very good prices and the service was very good.
Strongly suggested! Congratulations to the chef!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    118
    56
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Book now, treat yourself, enjoy this fabulous restaurant whatever the excuse, none is needed.
The food was absolutely brilliant, the service fabulous and yes it works out to £180 for 3 courses and wine, however, it is worth it.
Order the pear and almond tart with chocolate sauce, it is one of the best dishes I have ever eaten.
Thank you for a wonderful evening.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food still quite good, service not good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

The food was still good, but the service was BAD. Twice the wrong dish was served to the wrong person, different staff kept interrupting us to ask us if we were enjoying our meal, often within minutes of each other and there was no intelligence in the service just rote.it detracted from pleasure quite significantly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

These comments follow a visit to Zafferanos by 4 ladies for dinner midweek. 1st course good.
Main of 1 lobster and 3 crab pasta with chilli all of which arrived too quickly. We complained the crab pasta was too salty and no taste of chilli. They apologised and replaced all 3 which were no different. Service was far too quick. We started at 9.00 and were finished by 10.30 by then the restaurant was empty. It was a special occasion for us but after paying circa £350.00 it was too short. After discussion, The next day we complained to the manager who disagreed with us in a very dismissive and rude manner. We will not visit this restaurant in the future.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well past its sell-by date - Giorgio Locatelli would be embarassed to see how poor it has become”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We live in Chelsea and have been there three or four times in the last year. Never again. This restaurant, which was highly regarde in the late 90s , is a shadow of itself. Indiiferent service and expensive equally indifferent food. We thought we might have hit an off-night but it is now consistenetly bad.
It thrives on a location which is now a Belgravia ghetto populated by ex-patriots .Thus its clientel is transient and apparently not very discerning .
Giorgio Locateli who made his name here and is one of the finest chefs in London would be ashamed to have ever been associated with it

Avoid!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zafferano also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Zafferano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zafferano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.