We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still as good after 26 years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wong Kei

Wong Kei
41-43 Wardour St., London W1D 6PY, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )
(020)-7437-8408
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,815 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Neighborhood: Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“still as good after 26 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I used to eat at Wong Kei a lot when at UCL and was delighted to find it still in business this year after a 26 year absence from me.

Don't be put off by appearances (my husband: "it's a caff!"). Head upstairs to the main restaurant floors, join the many other diners - sometimes sharing a table - and enjoy. Great tasting food, fabulous value. Bathrooms are not the best, but they are not the reason you're there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    239
    99
    65
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An enigma, great and poor at the same time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Wong Keis hasn't changed much in the 20 years since my first visit. The food has always been good; the decor has always been shabby. It was a running joke that the waiters were a bit grumpy - they may have been, but more recently I have always found them helpful and prompt. After the service improvements, I think they should work hard on improving the ambience - the stairwell is particularly unattractive. With a bit of effort the place could tick all the boxes,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Cheap & Reliable (mostly)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The best Chinese cafe in London. My wife won't eat here, she complains of the MSG, I guess she orders badly! My kids love it too, so I'm never short of a companion, although there's a section at the front for single diners. Great for vegetarians and meat eaters alike. If you spend more than £5 you're a fool. Try the mixed meats on rice, my fave is duck & BBQ pork on rice with gravy/sauce. Pile the chilli oil on and eat with the never ending tea that comes standard as you sit down. Loads of people complain about it, I even had food poisoning once, but I still come back for more. The best value in town. It's a cafe, don't knock it...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire, UK.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Downstair downstair.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

A trip to London for me wouldn't be complete without a meal in Wonkeys.

Famously surly waiters (who are no longer as surly as they once were) bark orders of where to sit which could be on one of many floors. Basement and ground floor very canteen like, upper floors a little better laid out. Be prepared to be seated on large tables with others - comes as a bit of a shock to first timers.

Tea arrives as you are seated - want more then leave the lid of the pot open. Orders usually taken very quickly with the obvious aim of a quick turnover of customers. Some real eye opening things on the menu but i'm a wuss and always go for the stuff that I know and have never been disappointed in the food or the prices.

I'm not brave enough to venture to the toilets...

Although I do use chopsticks you can now ask for a knife and fork without the risk of it being thrown at you. But don't be tempted to use the chopsticks as drumsticks. Unless you want to be invited to eat in McDonalds instead.

Oh and it's cash only. But you knew that already...

Michelin star dining it is not. Quirky, cheap, quick and filling it is.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“stay clear of the toilets!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

we took friends here who have never been here before. we used to eat here about once a month when we lived in london but things have changed. it's still a warts and all 'canteen' with surly waiters and a cash only attitude. what shocked me was the state of the toilets.....DISGUSTING!!!! Luckily I ate before 'using' the facilities otherwise I would have left without eating. The toilets were in a state that would close any other restaurant down but this being a london institution I think westminster council lets them get away with it!

Hot water-NONE
hand towels - NONE
flushing toilet - NONE
used toilet paper - LOADS! PILED UP BEHIND THE CISTERN TO A HEIGHT OF 2-3 FEET IN BOTH TOILETS!
aroma - STOMACH TURNING AND A WORK OUT FOR YOUR GAG REFLEX!

The food was as I remember, good portions and nicely priced but this will never make me go back!

Email to environmental health sent in when I returned home - awaiting reply

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wong Kei also viewed

 

Been to Wong Kei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wong Kei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.