We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class experience at a price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wiltons

Wiltons
55 Jermyn Street | St James, London SW1Y 6LX, England
020-7629-99-55
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Wiltons is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #94 of 17,998 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: If you aspire to dine among British aristocracy, MPs and captains of industry, then don a suit and nip to Wiltons. Opened in 1742, it remains the epitome of traditional fine English dining in both d��cor and food. Its many original decorative features and discreet atmosphere feed the established sense of exclusivity and distinctive Old World appeal. It serves oysters and game, but is best known for its unfailingly fresh fish and seafood. Lobster, crab and truffle omelette is a pure pleasure; roast grouse a speech-stopping triumph, and the classic sherry trifle irresistible . The atmospheric Oyster and Seafood Bar remains a favourite haunt for regulars. And there are many of them. Delightful, genteel service.
London
Top Contributor
390 reviews 390 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“First class experience at a price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We came here for my husband's birthday attracted by the fact that it has an excellent array of seafood and a dress policy designed to keep standards up. (Quote from their website "We ask that gentlemen wear long-sleeved shirts, no open-toed shoes and no sportswear whilst dining at Wiltons".) The whole experience was excellent and we had a great evening even though the bill for three courses for two people came to just over £300. The service was polite and discreet, with the waitresses wearing outfits reminiscent of Lyons Tea Rooms, and the room elegant and quiet (no piped music). The main reason for coming here though is the food - excellent quality ingredients cooked in a pitch perfect way with no faddish techniques (not a foam or gel to be seen - hurray!). We tried the Colchester native oysters and smoked eel as starters and both showcased the high quality ingredients. For our main courses, we had turbot and halibut, each grilled, with some spinach and green beans on the side. The fish cooking was spot on, with the lemon on the side in muslin, something I haven't seen in a restaurant for a long while. Desserts are of the English nursery variety (rhubarb crumble with proper custard and sherry trifle) and very well-executed. We had two glasses of champagne to celebrate the birthday and a bottle of Puilly Fuisse (more than we usually pay for a bottle of wine but it went so well with the seafood). Everything about this restaurant is stylish and classy it was hard to find any fault - perhaps the vegetable portions are on the small side and perhaps the tables are a little close together but its hard to criticise anything else. For a special occasion when you don't mind paying a bit more than usual, and a classic English food experience, this restaurant is difficult to beat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M, Guest Relations Manager at Wiltons, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Susan8552,
Thank you for your kind review about Wiltons.
Our waitresses’ uniforms do attract attention. The manager, Michael explains an amusing anecdote about the uniforms and how they originated in a recent short video we had made https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C83USA64oqs You may find it interesting!
We hope you and your husband will visit us again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Alison McLennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    39
    12
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“'Old School Restaurant' with 'New School Fine-Dining'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I am in London today, not on business but for personal reasons.

I had a little bit of time to spare, as i am near Jermyn Street and what better place to go than Wiltons.

I havent been here for a few years now and gosh i miss it.

For me this Restaurants is one of the Best in the World.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M, Guest Relations Manager at Wiltons, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Stone S,

We are delighted that you decided to re-visit Wiltons after a spell of absence.

We truly hope that we will see you again in the near future either for business or for pleasure.

Thank you for taking the time to make your comments on Tripadvisor.

Yours sincerely,

Alison McLennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“First Class Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

An excellent Sipsmiths G&T at the bar then to table for dinner. Colchester Oysters were as good as any oysters I've ever eaten. And the Turbot to follow, whilst pricey at £49, was excellent. Top quality cheese board, a reasonably priced Bandol, and then a Batailley Paulliac 2006 with a ridiculous mark up, available by the case on line for around £30-35 a bottle, Wiltons charged £150 ! I cannot fault the quality, but boy, it costs. All in over £500 for two. Mind you, on the next table were Una Stubbs and Julia McKenzie, it's good to dine with the stars !

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M, Guest Relations Manager at Wiltons, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear DickSands,
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We have noted comments with regard to our wine list and pricing structure which incidentally we have been reviewing.
We are very pleased with our newly refurbished oyster Bar is a great spot to have a drink before dinner or even just to stop by and have drink and some Colchester Oysters!
We have recently introduced a wide variety of options at varying costs on the menu which are, of course, all up to Wiltons’ standards – the choice is yours!
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Yours sincerely,
Alison McLennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

My annual blow-out at Wiltons.

Service excellent as always, and with the option of dining solo at the bar, it's nice to see what's going on. Wiltons does cater well for solo diners, but I prefer not to have a table to myself.

A discussion on the merits of the various smoked salmon resulted in a sample of each which would have constituted a portion elsewhere. I went for the Foremans London cure wild which was excellent.

Dover sole, crumble and cheese to follow. A G&T, two glasses of Sancerre, a port and a bottle of water. £174 including tip. Not cheap, but still value for money.

Why only four stars? The suggested scoop of ice-cream with the crumble. £2.50. Disgraceful. The clientele are clearly well funded, but there's a limit.



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M, Guest Relations Manager at Wiltons, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear David S,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are particularly pleased that you appreciated the various smoked salmon and oysters we offer that appeal to different tastes.
Dining at the bar is a fun and comfortable experience. Like you, some of our guests prefer sitting at the counter or others like to sit at a table opposite. Either way, the bar area is a great spot to soak in the atmosphere and watch the comings and goings.
Please visit us again soon.
Kind regards,
Alison McLennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Typically British with simple French cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Popped in for lunch with The Prof - full of well dressed business men.
Lunch menu of the day was perfect, good choice of simply prepared fresh food,
not too much and not too expensive.
A good feeling all round

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M, Guest Relations Manager at Wiltons, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear MissesN,
Thank you for your comments. We use the most fresh and finest ingredients and take pride in preparing them simply, letting the quality of the ingredients shine through.
We hope you will visit us again soon.
Kind regards,
Alison McLennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wiltons also viewed

 

Been to Wiltons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wiltons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.