We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favourite treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wholemeal Cafe

Wholemeal Cafe
1 Shrubeery Road, Streatham, London SW16 2AS, England
020-8769 2423
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,594 of 17,944 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Restaurant details
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A favourite treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I love going to Wholemeal & whether by accident or design it delivers, with an easy grin! Wholemeal is not trying to be anything more than a veggie/vegan cafe' unlike some high street vegetarian restaurants it's not pretentious, service is polite & friendly and I always leave satisfied with both the food and the cost.

Signature dishes are Homity Pie and Bannoffee pie however their rotated dishes are just as yummy and the crumble is sinfully delicious too! Organic wines, ciders and soft drinks cap it all off and salads are made crunchy fresh every day, what more could you ask for?

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“homely, casual - the food would tempt any dedicated carnivore (even my husband) to become a veggie.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Love to pop in for lunch on my own or grab a taleaway when visiting mum - in the local care home. Great food. Easy atmosphere. Prompt but not rushed service. Today I took one resistant (carnivorous) husband - he tucked well into the lush salads and dish of the day.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

As ever, good food, service and atmosphere. Large portions of salad to accompany Homity Pie or the bake. Excellent Banoffee pie for dessert.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Vegetarian delights!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I've been coming here for years as it's one of the few Veggie restaurants in South London. Since moving to Streatham, we're now more frequent visitors and my sister absolutely loves the place being a Vegan - she has lots of choice and more importantly choice of dessert! I like the modern interior mixed with traditional veggie fayre, I love the wholesome meals and the great range of salads. Although I tend to favour Chocolate desserts, the Bannoffee pie is lovely!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic veggie find in streatham”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Hidden off the high road is a great veggie restaurant offering fresh food and lots to choose from. Staff are very friendly and you can get 10% off by accessing the coupon here
http://www.wholemealcafe.com/

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wholemeal Cafe also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Wholemeal Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wholemeal Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.