We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good Chinese” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Weng Wah House

Weng Wah House
240 Haverstock Hill, London NW, England
(020)-7794-5123
Improve this listing
Ranked #10,064 of 16,892 restaurants in London
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really good Chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food was excellent. Maybe the best Chinese food I have had in London. I had the spring rolls, sweet and sour chicken, plain rice and a couple of Tsing Taos. The bill was about 25 sterling. Food was great and since I was full from all this I elected not to have desert. When I finished my meal, the owner sent over a plate of fresh fruit (without charge) that was most enjoyable. He was present throughout the meal and supervised the wait staff, who were very pleasant and courteous.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

46% Recommend
    10
    12
    7
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Traun
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Some like it hot”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you are not into hot or very spicy food, this restaurant should not be your first choice.The interior is also a little worn down already, the carpet around our tabel was torn, and I got stuck with my chair's foot in a carpet tear. The Dim sum was average to bland, maybe for those that dont like it hot. My son could not eat his dish, as it was so hot that he shed a few tears.All in all you could get better Chinese food in London for a more reasonable price.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Good fod, freshly prepared. Friendly staff in no frills surroundings, great dim sum! good value for money can be noisy as often parties and groups here but usually good natured !

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kascem
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“What a disappointment !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This was not the first time we have dined here as we have previously been near to the Christmas time which is why we don't have such high expectations as it is always packed.unfortunately tonight was a complete shambles.The restaurant only had two party tables and still seemed overwhelmed by this even though we were the only 2 tables there.The older waiter was rude and extremely unhelpful ( the young guy was great though ).We were the first to arrive and ordered our drinks but the majority of our table drink cider which they do not stock.We asked if they could maybe try to get hold of some as it was extremely quiet but they said absolutely not and we could always just have soft drinks.Given hat our party spent over £1000 you would think they could have tried to at least help us out especially as the shops are only a couple of shops away and they flatly refused our offer to purchase it for them.The waiter spilt a bottle of beer over one of our party and then walked off claiming he didn't despite most of us witnessing it !No apology or replacement. the food was poor and not enough.the microphones didn't work( only 1did) so ok if you only want to sing solo.if you want poor food,rude and aggressive staff and service charge that is not earned then this is the place for you, otherwise run a mile in the opposite direction.Not so much karaoke as Crap-eoke!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very good crispy duck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Always when in London I go there for crispy duck in pancakes. Quite decent other meals. I’ve never had problems after dinner there. Interior is typical for such small Chineese restaurants. Toilets rather not recommended for sensitive people.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weng Wah House also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Weng Wah House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weng Wah House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.