We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and appetising” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Veeraswamy

Veeraswamy
99 Regents Street | 99 Regent Street, London W1B 4RS, England (Mayfair)
+44 (0) 20 7734 1401
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #794 of 17,052 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $48 - $106
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: Veeraswamy, UK's oldest Indian restaurant in Piccadilly, has been the rendezvous of the famous and fashionable as well as lots of ordinary lovers of Indian food since its inception in 1926. The luxurious, chic, and exotic décor evokes Maharaja's palaces of the 1920s. A menu of classical dishes from throughout India is combined with more contemporary creations. National Geographic, the highly respected travel magazine, has ranked it as one of the 10 Best Destination Restaurants in the World. No other UK restaurant is in this top 10 list.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Elegant and appetising”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

One of the nicest places in London for dinner! Tasty food, nice ambience and good service. Th desserts are a must try.


Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    272
    89
    51
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Special Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great location, attentive, informative staff and delicious food. A wonderful evening. The only reason I did not give it 5 is because it is very expensive but I guess you get what you pay for and I could not fault the service or food.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good - would be 5 stars if not so pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This Indian restaurant is first class for both authentic food and very attentive service. I have been on numerous occasions and never been disappointed. My favourite dish is the Lamb Biryani which is fabulous. Fantastic appetisers (chicken lollipops another favourite) and the poppadoms and dips to start are very, very good. Good wine list with a range of prices.

Overall it is a bit expensive which is why I've given it 4 stars - but I guess you are paying for the location and the views over Regent Street as well as quality ingredients.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Cashing on location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

-Very high price
-Average food, definitely needs a introspection on their quality for the prices they charge

+Location is good, ambience is good, very clean

Their tandoor needs some real good marination. Lamb is hard. Won't return. Once can get much better food at fraction of the cost.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Expensive and a limited menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Went here for dinner with a couple of colleagues a couple of nights ago and expected more based on the reviews. The restaurants purports to be the oldest in the UK dating back to 1926. Service was pretty good even though the restaurant was quite busy. Prices are high (even if you do have an elevated view over Regent Street). Average starters price is £10, with main dishes (without rice / side dishes) are priced at an average of £20-£30! Only a couple of chicken / lamb dishes respectively and they only seen to offer chicken thigh meat as opposed to breast. I get that thighs may be tastier BUT look again at the prices being charged! We opted to go straight to main courses. I had one of their signature dishes, a lamb byriani but it was too dry for my liking and was dominated by the rice. I really had to dig deep into the pot it was served in to find the lamb. Once found, the meat was well cooked and good quality but overall not that tasty, despite a medium spice chilli rating according to their menu. Drinks are also priced on the high side - Meantime Pilsner is £5.50 per small bottle and the cheapest beer on offer. An average bottle of Shiraz (no Malbec on the wine list) is £47. Glenmorangie 10 year old single malt is £9.50 a glass. Can't say I will be rushing back. To conclude, no starters, a beer each x3, one bottle of Shiraz, a main course, with rice and a couple of shared rice dishes = £210 / £70 per head. If the meal had blown us all away, my review would be different BUT it didn't.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veeraswamy also viewed

London, England
 

Been to Veeraswamy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veeraswamy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.