We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frozen Fish” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetings

Sweetings
39 Queen Victoria St., London EC, England
(020)-7248-3062
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,387 of 17,938 Restaurants in London
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Frozen Fish”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I have been taking clients to this restaurant for many years during my career in the City. Went there last week for a meeting and was so disappointed, the crab, scallops and fish were all frozen to the point I could not eat the main course. Whilst my guest had a pudding I asked for a mint tea, thought this would at least make up for the tasteless fish, I was informed by the grumpy waiter that they didn't serve tea or coffee!! I noticed he soon put a smile on his face when he wanted a tip on the bill................Needless to say I will not be returning to this restaurant!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    27
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plainview, New York
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great fish, but I was delegated to a crummmy waitress”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The place is quaint. They placed me in an area where the stool placed a very lost waitress. She messed up my order for haddock. I wanted it broiled, but got it boiled. The fish was really fresh and tasty, but not what I ordered. The crab cakes were too loaded with spices and not enough crab. I was disappointed, but would like to return for another try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent fish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Enoyed a late birthday lunch at this quaint and delightfully dated restaurant. The maitre d' was very charming and once the rest of the staff got serving us they were lovely and efficient too. (Stood around with glum/tired faces until they had to get cracking!) We enjoyed some fantastic crab and scallops then a dover sole which was perfectly cooked. No room for the puddings which, although I am sure were lovely, were all traditional stodgy type of dishes and we just had no room for them. Would be nice to see a couple of lighter options on the menu. All in all a very good experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great for Lunch - Closed in the evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

You cannot make a reservation which is a pity but if you have time you can wait with a cold beer and get served as soon as a table becomes available. Great for seafood and fish&chips.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lunchtime Dining at Its Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Sweetings is my favourite place to eat when I'm in London - the excellent food is classic British and the little traditions and fantastic staff make it worth taking the afternoon off to enjoy it properly. Cyril (MD) is great, Alan the Dry Scot too (just fantastic!) and so is Leigh on the front counter. Can't wait for next visit on March 6th!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetings also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Sweetings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.