We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School, simple good quality food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetings

Sweetings
39 Queen Victoria St., London EC, England (City of London)
(020)-7248-3062
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,103 of 17,039 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Neighborhood: City of London
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: City of London
Bishops Stortford
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Old School, simple good quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We joined a table with five other diners. The table had white linen with sauce bottles and white plates with brown bread and butter already laid out. A slight 'old fashioned' feel with plain walls and floor and a large window at the front with the starters on display wrapped in cling film.
We ordered lobster, fish cakes and smoked Haddock which were served in a very plain way, but were all of a very good quality. The vegetables were placed on the table in silver plate and stainless steel dishes with a stainless steel spoon (the other cutlery is silver plated). The puddings were all very traditional English classics.
The service was good and at the end of the meal the waiter asked if we would like to add a tip to the bill or if we would prefer to leave cash. The bill also include a charge for the brown bread and butter. For simple well produced fish dishes, it is well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    30
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Very poor cuisine indeed, but great atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I go to Sweetings every so often - normally for a meeting with a chum, a pint of guiness and an injection of old-fashioned city eating. Let's face it, Sweetings is a restaurant stuck in a time-warp. Sadly on this occasion 'time-warp' equalled poor food and abrupt service - a true 70s experiece. We chose fish and chips and fish cakes. Both were incredibly overcooked. Dry, nasty things, with undercooked chips. I am pretty sure that the fish was either out of date or of the frozen variety. If I am wrong, sorry but it was horrid and I left most of it. As we left, our reighbour was being served a literally burnt wing of skate. It went back. What a shame! That's the last time at Sweetings for me. What a shame - I was first taken to Sweetings in the late 70s by my father have always loved the restaurant for its eccentricity and uniqueness but will not be going any longer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“So good ..... so wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I wouldn't normally effuse over this restaurant, but recently from a very high bar it has got even better - something that as someone who admittedly has been going here on and off for 40+ years from a primary school child (with my late, ever missed father) to almost-ish (!) middle aged self might make me biased ad absurdium. But I kid you not - the fish is fresh, the Dover Sole a wow! If you can try the scallops in Bacon - more-ish doesn't describe what I had just before Xmas - better than I can remember (again though I might be getting a bit past it!). Seriously though, no reservations is not a drawback - just get here EARLY and savour the delights of one of the overlooked and hidden delights of the 'Old' City.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Very good seafood in a old fashioned atmosphere in the City.
You have to try a pint of black velvet, even for those who don't like Guinness, you will love it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

After seeing Sweetings on one of Anthony Bourdain's shows we just had to experience it. Yes, it is a pricey lunch but the beverage selection, food, and service create an unique experience that is worth it. We were very pleased with the fresh seafood selection. The Black Velvet (Guinness and Champagne) was great and the Christmas pudding w/Brandy butter was amazing!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetings also viewed

 

Been to Sweetings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.